Potent logo

Before you try Delta 8 edibles, please read this.

Delta 8 edibles can lead to some serious side affects!

By Kyle SmithPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 12 min read
Like
Before you try Delta 8 edibles, please read this.
Photo by Elsa Olofsson on Unsplash

Back in 2020 when I visited one of my sisters out of state, she would frequent vape shops that carried Cbd products. She mentioned how there was a new form of CBD edibles that replicated THC-9 found in natural marjirana. I was down to try it out of curiosity which til this day, has caused me to dabble into uncharted territory I wasn’t expected to take me on a crazy adventure that I know better not to journey these days.

At the time, my sister and I went to this Vape shop to buy flat strip gummies containing delta 8 THC at its lowest form of 3%. Most experts in the industry would agree that THC nine is much more psychotropic and stronger than its cousin, delta 8 and when I tried it for the first time I knew better than to critique with more than just one.

One hour later, I felt the effects kick in and felt relaxed. Of course, my sister who has never tired edibles, paid me $5 to take 5 strips of edible gummies. I warned her that it wouldn’t be a good idea to take more than 2, but she thought she could stomach it( no puns intended as I’ll explain to you what happens next.)The next morning, I remembered my sister’s hand crutching her stomach in pain as she exclaimed “ I threw up and feel really sick Kyle”.

She probably took way too much without considering the after affects of an edible like Delta 8 and how it might affect her.

Because the truth behind Delta 8 edibles are far more sinister than you could imagine. It doesn’t take long to search a Reddit forum on bad trips with Delta 8 or how after an intense experience at the emergency room, how most swore to never partake in a synthetic lab made CBD product ever again.

0 Hours

I bought a 30 piece delta 8 gummies in a small round container. Walked out of the store after purchasing and popped one gummy in my mouth. I then proceeded to go to the coffeehouse and set up on the second floor while popping another 50 mg delta eight gummy in my mouth. Still, didn’t feel anything. 30 minutes later I decided to walk home in the cold afternoon. Everything seemed fine as I locked myself in my apartment and sat on the couch.

The First 3o minutes to 2 hours

An hour past and I was sitting on the couch watching ABC News live, a streaming service that was included on my Roku TV. I remember extinctively that there was a memorturium of celebrities who passed away during 2021 with somber music playing softly in the background. Around the time, is when I was slipping Into psychosis and away from reality. As I would see on the TV screen of former celebrities who have passed on during the year 2021, I was contemplating my own mortality as though I felt like I was losing it.

My head felt a heavy tingling sensation as I begin to breathe heavily as though I couldn’t catch my breath. My heart was pounding rapidly as I clenched onto my chest with my shaking hand. This was unlike any type of high I’ve ever felt. Something within me just didn’t feel right at all. My heart was pounding and I was constantly taking deep breath’s as though I was losing oxygen to my brain. The television was still on and what would be interpreted as the English language Was slowly turning into a muffled foreign language where I couldn’t understand anything that was being said or remember what was being uttered. Suddenly my attention span has grown shorter and shorter, unable to fully and cognitively comprehend what was happening on the TV or on any of the ABC News segments about 2021 highlights. It was as if I was being born again into a toddler who was just grasping the concept of the world.

3 hours later

By Vidisha Sanghvi on Unsplash

I was officially medicated and out of my mind! As I would stare at the wall and my surroundings inside of my apartment, I felt an ever-growing presence of being watched. Sure enough, that’s when I started to see the eyes of animals, aliens and ancient people IMAX Style. These entities were just observing my every move as my mind was deteriorating into complete maddness, shifting further away from what I known to be reality. I wasn’t able to control what I was seeing. I kept looping out of my reality and into a dream state and back into my reality yet again.

As I walked pass my hall way, I felt reality glitching away as though being rewinded and stop then fast forward every 6 seconds. This episode I was having was scary. My sense of time was obviously dilated so everything around me seemed slow and choppy. My attention span was reduced to daydreaming thoughts that felt like 10 minutes segments of a dream while walking around in reality unconscious of my surroundings. It may have felt like an eternity when only five minutes went by in real time. As I walked outside medicated out of my mind, time dilated more. What was simply a 25 minute walk felt more like eight hours from my hallucinogenic perspective. I swore to myself that “never again “and yet this would not be the first or last time I protect in delta eight edibles.

As I begin to go back home from my walk, I only felt more off than the last two previous hours being medicated off a Delta 8. My television was still on in the background so narration and commentary sounded slurred and echoey. I begin to feel extremely anxious and terrified. Pasting back-and-forth in my Living Room, I just wanted the racing thoughts and mild hallucinations to stop in my head. I didn’t know if this was going to last the entire day or a couple days or even forever. As I was continuing to pace back-and-forth around my coffee table in the living room, one of my racing thoughts of this intense experience was “this is how schizophrenia must feel like,RIGHT? “and it made me more considerate of those who suffer such conditions of Psychosis.

5 hour

By Samuel Scrimshaw on Unsplash

So I decided to then sit now with a racing heartbeat and mind. I closed my eyelids and still saw entities of eyes from the strange beings or animals glaring at me as though I ruined the ultimate secret of life itself. Shaking frantically in terror, I started to regret consuming to Delta 8 edibles. I certainly underestimated the strength of the 11 hydroxy that was already running through my bloodstream and causing severe psychosis that I haven’t experienced in over 12 years.

9th hour

Around 9 PM is when the edibles started to wear off. My stomach growled and I begin to search for a snack to eat and I was looking for a channel where I could watch the ball drop on live television. My original plan was to visit New York City and be where the action was , but unfortunately that wasn’t possible as I’ve already went to New York twice that year. The crazy strange feeling of being watched like I was on the television show or the reality loop glitches have disappeared. By 12 AM the next day it was 2022 and I started to feel normal. Looking back at this experience made me realize how close to death I felt on this edible and that I should not underestimate 50 mg of a small gummy cube shape jelly. Thankfully I learned to ration my dosis as you will read further to even in low doses, delta eight can make a very bad situation even more terrifying. As I was at find out three months later.

February the 27, 2022

One Sunday night as I was sitting down on the couch, I turned on the news to see the current events that are happening regarding the Russian invasion on Ukraine. As you can imagine, it left a lot of people on edge, especially myself. That feeling only intensified as I stupidly decided yet again, to take 50 mg delta eight gummy. Of course this experience wasn’t as intense as the last one at the end of last year however, it made an already intensified and scary situation on the world stage, much more amplified than it already was.

With all due respect, the invasion in Ukraine is a serious matter and super terrifying for those caught in the middle of it, especially the 2 million Ukrainians who has since escaped through their countries Corridor’s and into other neighboring nations. But as a few hours kicked in after taking my 50 mg gummy, started to shake yet again but feel a sense of impeding doom. I became super scared of what I was watching on television as images of shelled apartment complexes, schools and hospitals were destroyed by Russian forces. I didn’t know how to process the images and video footage that I was witnessing on national television. Whatever was going on had freaked me out times 1000 on Delta 8.

The craziest thoughts raced through my head

I begin to to have racing thoughts again but this time, a dreadful fear that the world was shifting into a new direction. This new war in Eastern Europe could potentially cause conflicts with NATO that would trigger a 3rd world war. It was super insane how scared I actually was and how delta 8 has amped up my anxiety about an already serious conflict currently unfolding in front of the world stage.

I couldn’t stand what I was watching and yet I was addicted to know more. So I laid down in my bedroom and played NBC news radio. My brain switched to psychosis mode as I was hearing news that the US placed a no-fly zone for all Russian commercial aircraft over the United States. It seemed that even without delta eight, the situation in Europe was intensifying and hearsay on Twitter was predicting new clear retaliation from Russia, which didn’t help my already anxiety amped Psychosis regarding the situation unfolding on the news.

I then start to believe that through this psychosis, that I was doomed for good. There’s something nuclear would destroy the world in that world war three was actually about to happen. For the last two days following that report, still medicated on delta eight, I was curled up in a ball in bed all night trying to sleep. I may have had insomnia because of how intense and high I felt for eight hours that night.

Reading what comes next might freak you out

The entire week after 27 February was a total nightmare. I was afraid to leave the house and when I did, I thought that any moment a bright light would disintegrate me into oblivion. I’d watch TV in through my psychosis would see nervous smiling weatherman and news anchors look upon each other as though they knew that their time was nigh. I remember vividly watching The State Of The Union Address and how weird and terrified I felt as though impeding doom of sort was around the corner. Feeling scared, I started to text everyone in my family and a couple friends to make sure they have gas containers and plenty of food stocked up at home or at least decent access to a bunker or basement. I didn’t know what was going to happen and I was high on Delta 8 to be able to think straight either.

The breaking point

It got to a point where I was so nervous to even listen to the news that I had to put on jazz music on iHeartRadio just to calm down in my own apartment. The racing thoughts did not stop though and I started to overthink about events from the last two weeks. I even convinced myself through psychosis that the recent Donda 2 listening party performance was really Ye foreshadowing a nuclear post apocalyptic world during world war 3. A more sane person would have you believe however, that it was simply a performance art being acted out during a listening party and that it had no real correlation to any catastrophic geo political event or that hasn’t even happened or hopefully never does. It didn’t help that I watched the world economic forum’s short video on “the great reset “and how that was in correlation with what was going on in the world. I couldn’t tell you if society was falling apart and collapsing in front of my eyes or if this Delta 8 was causing severe psychosis where I was losing my sense of reality all together.

If you’re thinking of trying an edible this weekend or even this year, I hope my traumatizing experience might direct you to something more productive instead. Because taking Delta eight, especially a substance created in a laboratory or might contain synthetic ingredients is never a wise choice. And it’s extremely important to have a sobering mindset in dark times like these. Taking mine altering substances, herbs or edibles will only cause unwarranted anxiety or depression. So I beg of you to think twice about consuming delta 8 if you already suffer from anxiety or other issues that causes panic.

My personal recommendation

  1. I only recommend CBD edibles to seasoned stoners ONLY.Delta eight is definitely not like regular bud. It’s less potent than THC Marijuana, but should still proceed with caution. The right setting and mindset is a must while consuming a Delta 8 edible.
  2. Start off with 5-10 mg Delta 8. This dosage will replicate the normal medicated state you feel with THC based CBD marijuana plants. 50-500 mg will probably cause you to end up in the emergency room. Or to end up like I did in this article.
  3. If you’re already diagnosed with a mental condition thats treatable with licensed pharmacials,then I Do NOT recommend CBD edibles like Delta 8. In fact, avoid it!
  4. As a rule of thumb, edibles are much stronger than vaping or smoking CBD or marijuana. Much more intense to. Edibles usually take around 1 to 2 hours to kick in with full affect. I only recommend taking a dosage under 10 mg. 50 to 700 mg is too extreme for most people.

If you found this information valuable, why not hit the subscribe button and share this article on other social media platforms so that other people learning about Delta 8 can read about my personal experience with the edible.Thanks.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Kyle Smith

I’m an entrepreneur,up and coming manga artist, and an Apple tech guy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.