Photography logo

Whose Soul is This Anyway?

The Pelican and Me, Quasata Leigh

By Quasata LeighPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Whose Soul is This Anyway?

In what I would call my glory days, that is until my life became more complicated, I used to love to walk our local parks and go to the numerous zoos around the area. The wildlife and sceneries were a joy for me. It was like walking into a fantasy world where I could escape the chaos of work and home life. This is where I would find my Zen.

On one of my weekend trips to a small sanctuary in Racine, WI I experienced an unusual encounter with a rather curious bird. This small not for profit zoo was one of my very favorite places to visit. It completely depended upon donations and, at the time, was going through major renovations. Its major focus had always been on species native to Wisconsin but it did include animals and birds that you could find at any major metropolitan zoo.

Here I was, minding my own business, just wandering through the Zoo and admiring the changes that were being made to the “enclosures” and habitats for these wondrous creatures when suddenly I was nudged by a large bird. One that was nowhere near the bird sanctuary, and really should not have been wandering about.

What I find most fascinating about animals, whether they are domesticated or wild, whether feathered or furry or scaly, it is that you can see into their souls. And when you take the time to look them in the eye you can see their curiosity, intelligence, arrogance, aggression, caring, love, and whatever else they may be feeling portrayed vividly in those orbs.

When I’m out with my camera in hand, nothing professional by any means, I’m looking for creatures that I can get close to. Close enough that I can capture their soul by looking into their eyes. Now that doesn’t mean that I’m going to walk right up to a lion and ask him to smile. Oh, no, not quite that daring. Unless, perhaps, there is some very strong glass between me and him. I admire those people who are brave enough to dare such endeavors in the wilds of Africa. I can only wish to be so brave.

Simply put, I look for that sweet picture that doesn’t put myself or the innocent creature in danger. That one where the animal is close enough, safely, that I can use my zoom to capture a good shot that envelopes their soul, spirit, and character. Where I can feel for them, see them deeply, care as they may care, and hope to understand them.

Well, on this particular day for this particular shot, I got the unexpected. A nudge, followed by another inappropriate nudge. I turned to find this pelican who was very curious as to what I was doing. His head bobbing from side to side, his wings unfurling and closing, as he watched what I was doing. He was so close that I absolutely could not pass this opportunity by. I pulled my camera up and readied the shot, and snap! There it was – the very best eye shot I had ever received.

How this guy got out of his habitat and, or, enclosure I will never know but I am glad he did. He was non-aggressive, and just adorable. We stood and communicated non-verbally for a while and then took our leave of each other. The beauty and intelligence that this pelican displayed was wondrous, and I will forever be in awe of this bird. It was surreal. This made my Zen world seem that much more like a true fantasy.

Over the years I’ve had many opportunities to capture pictures of animals but none as good as this one. I feel that he was there for me on this day doing the same thing that I was doing… looking into my soul as I had into his.

art
2

About the Creator

Quasata Leigh

I've been telling stories my whole life, and somewhere along the way I lost myself. I'm here to regain lost time, gain strength and learn to tell stories again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.