Photography logo

What a view

After a month and a half the beach feels nice.

By stephanie borgesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Huntington Beach Pier

When you think of summer, what is the first thing that pops in your head? For me, it’s the beach. Luckily I live close to it. I can walk to the beach; it is only eight blocks from my home. It has been almost a month in a half since I had seen the beach. So, I want to talk about the photo that I took when I went for a walk with my husband, Ian, and my mom. On a Sunday afternoon, the beach was crowded with people and their pets. My husband and my mother were getting ready to head home when I saw “The Huntington Beach Pier” from the parking lot. It was such a beautiful site, almost as if I hadn’t seen “The Huntington Beach Pier” in years. I knew right there. I had to take a photo.

I remember taking three or four images because I was very picky. Finally, on the third one, I decided to use it, but I had to crop it because I was standing in a parking lot and I didn’t want to show the cars with the license plate. Not to mention to much sky, it was about 50% of the picture. I could have to edit it on Adobe Photoshop, like not just cropping it, but maybe adding some filters like adjusting the levels, and erasing some of the people. But, I choose to do it on my phone with just the tools that come with it already.

I look at this picture, and I remember growing up and walking on the pier with my dad and my mom. Sometimes, we would walk on the dock, look at the ocean, and then walk along the water. At that time, I lived in Santa Ana. In my opinion, it is not so great to live there now, but it was when I was younger, it was a pretty decent place to grow up with your uncles, aunt, and cousins. I moved to Huntington Beach with my husband and my mom (my father passed away in 2017) after I graduated from college. I still take walks on the pier sometimes with my mom or my husband, either to get exercise, relieve stress from a hard day’s work, or to talk a walk. And while doing so, I would get hot chocolate or coffee whatever I’m in the mood for. And yes, I would get the same for my mom or my husband. We would talk about anything from the days when we were young; what we want to do in the future, sometimes we would talk about the people on the pier who would, unfortunately, be wasted, high or just downright stupid ugly.

During this pandemic, I had time with my mom to go through many photographs. Some that we have taken over the years—both with a digital camera and from our phones. And maybe from those old deposable cameras, you would buy over the counter at your local pharmacy store. The problem is getting enough photo albums to put them all in.

I have been talking a lot of pictures because I am a writer, and just like many others, they use current events as material. I like to use photographs because I can edit them through Adobe Photoshop to help tell my stories. I am going to use the picture that I took for my next graphic novel.

To be honest, if you had told me the year 2020 a pandemic was going to happen, I would have believed it was a plot for a horror film or maybe an idea for a graphic novel.

editing
Like

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.