Photography logo

VSCO | Shot on iPhone

My go-to app for mobile editing

By Taylor SimsPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Image on the left is the original. Image on the right is the edit. 

Shot on iPhone has become a “thing” on social media and with mobile photography, so I figured i’d take a shot (pun intended). Luckily I have the iPhone XS Max, which captures amazing photos, especially with portrait mode activated. I wrapped up a photoshoot with Nicole, a fashion blogger from Leesburg, VA, and thought it would be a good idea to capture some photos on the iPhone too. Below are a few shots I took of her on the iPhone XS Max. This is no way a review on the app at all, but just a big high five really. I have so much fun creating on it, and wanted to share some of my thoughts.

I imported about three of the photos into VSCO, my GO TO app for mobile editing. It's free to download, but if you would like to unlock all the features, it's going to run you a smooth $20. Anyways, its an awesome application, and I literally import every phone I take on the iPhone that’s considered “good” before I do anything else with it. I enjoy playing with the different filters to see what catches my eye the most, and I adjust from there.

Like other editing apps, you’re able to control things like exposure, contrast, clarity, saturation, and white balance, but what really sets VSCO apart from other apps is quality, and the amount of filters they have. They have filters that are photo-specific, meaning the app will suggest a specific filter based on the photo you import and edit. Sometimes it can feel like they have TOO many filters, but it's worth going through them to find the one that fits your style of editing.

HSL control is a feature I love to lean on when creating images that POP. You’re able to control your hue, the saturation of that hue, and the lightness of that hue. With this image I really didn’t use it to too much, but check it out, experiment, and see what you can come up with. Tag me in your work on IG if you post! @fromtaylor_

One thing I do wish that VSCO would add is the option to fix blemishes. For that I usually end up using Snapseed by Google (also awesome). Hopefully we can see that in a future update.

Nicole’s Instagram: @msfashionfetish

editing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.