Photography logo

Vintage Cameras: Treasure Hunting In Black And White

Capturing A Moment That's Gone Forever

By Elena AthonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
6
Photo by Elena Athon

I have a love for photography that I can't explain, especially for vintage cameras.

I have collected quite a few over the years, and although I try not to go overboard, I can't resist buying them.

My little treasures are hiding in thrift stores waiting for me to discover them.

There is a unique atmosphere in those stores. I lose track of time when I go there.

The cameras from different decades, types, and brands create a feeling that you can't describe in words, but I will try.

Vintage cameras are magical devices that capture moments in time and preserve them forever, like a time capsule.

When you pick up an old camera at a thrift store, it feels like you are holding a part of history in your hands.

I love to go through vintage cameras and admire the designs, the tiny marks made by their previous owners, and their smell.

It makes me wonder about the pictures that were taken with them. Birthdays, vacations, weddings...

Photo by Elena Athon

Lenses are like eyes that capture special moments, and although they've seen so much, they stand silent in front of me, making me imagine what they witnessed.

"Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever. It remembers little things long after you have forgotten everything."

Aaron Siskind

Photography is all about capturing those small moments or details we might not notice otherwise with our eyes but can see them through an image captured by film.

How my love for photography began

Every time I visit Prague, I love to go to the thrift stores and discover vintage cameras that I have never seen before.

I have a special bond with the Czech Republic because I was born there. I don't live there anymore and travel there primarily for work; I think of my life if I stayed there.

There is a type of nostalgia about this place because I spent there my early childhood.

I have amazing black and white pictures of that period. A professional photographer - my father's friend - used to take black and white photos of my family.

These photos somehow made me fall in love with photography.

Black and white pictures have something unique about them, they show life more realistically, and there is something raw about them.

Photo by Elena Athon

Trying to find a hidden treasure

There is something special about thrift stores. I just love the feeling of searching for a hidden treasure waiting to be discovered.

Walking through the door of an old thrift shop is like entering a different dimension.

I love the smell of old wood that hits me like a wave. There is nothing quite like it; the scent takes me back to my childhood in an instant.

It always makes me nostalgic. There is something magical about finding the right vintage camera.

I believe that the objects at the thrift store choose their subsequent owners. When I'm browsing through the vintage camera aisle, I wait for that special feeling when a certain one connects with me.

It is love at first sight. We are meant for each other!

These cameras have been around longer than anyone can remember, so they all carry their own story that is waiting patiently inside of them, just begging to be told-and now someone will finally listen...

The thrill of finding a good vintage camera never gets old, it's like I'm on an adventure every time!

Every single camera I bought over the years has a different story to tell.

I love to hold them in my hands, feel their weight, connect with them, and take pictures.

I enjoy the whole process of shooting photos, waiting for them to get developed, and then looking at the pictures.

Photo by Elena Athon

Black and white reality

I prefer medium format cameras because they can create stunning pictures.

I love the old smell that lingers in them, a reminder of what used to be their second home: some family's living room or maybe even an artist studio as many people still use film cameras today.

Black and white film is my favorite because it captures an era's essence: a sharp contrast between light and dark.

With the absence of color, it feels as if reality is stripped off, and only the spirit is captured.

Especially portraits in black and white feel like they capture the soul of the subject.

Photo by Elena Athon

Unique design

You don't have to be an expert photographer or a professional artist to appreciate vintage medium format cameras' beauty.

The retro design is elegant and timeless, with just enough retro flair that captures your attention without being too ostentatious about it.

You can also tell these were created by designers who really cared about what they were doing.

Every detail was given careful consideration, from subtle flourishes on the lens caps and shutter buttons all the way down to minor marks around each control dial.

It's like having a work of art that has the magic power to freeze time and capture some memories for us...

Photo by Elena Athon

I love my collection of vintage cameras. There is something so special about the history and memories they hold.

I can't tell you how many times people have said they want to start retaking pictures because of these cameras!

Maybe we don't share the same passion for vintage cameras, but I'm sure you probably love taking pictures.

It doesn't matter if you use a DSLR, a mirrorless, or a smartphone. Just take photos of the special moments in your life.

Taking pictures will remind you of all the good times in your life, and they will be captured forever!

Keep your memories alive!

camera
6

About the Creator

Elena Athon

Blogging has allowed me to explore my creativity and voice in ways that I never knew were possible - all while connecting with people who are passionate about the same things as myself. Check out my blog: www.butterfulsoul.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.