Photography logo

The Wild Life

by: Dominique gray

By Dominique GrayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Young Elephant (calf)

On November 20th 2019, It was the best trip of my life. Actually It was the only trip in my life as an adult at the time, with the people that I love the most. My friends, family and the love of my life made it all possible. I honestly don't know what I would do without them. They knew what would make me so happy.

It was a breezy autumn season, and We were in the mood for an adventure. I was a little over 3 months pregnant and craving a huge turkey leg that I knew I could only get at the one and only Walt Disney World. My Fiance rented a Dodge Hellcat charger to drive us 3 1/2 hours away to my favorite place. Even though it caused us to get a very pricey ticket, only because we did not realize how fast we were going. When the officer pulled us over, he said we were going 15 over the speed limit. We told him it was the fast car fault ..good thing the officer had a good sense of humor. It was my birthday, The cop even gave me a sticker to go along with our $247 ticket (LoL) . We continued to drive safe and make it to our Airbnb home located in Kissimmee, Fl. My uncle John that lives in Orlando came by and surprised me and my group of 8 people with tickets to the exotic Animal kingdom theme park. Now you know I was too excited about seeing some animals. My fiance had upgraded my phone from an android to an Iphone, so the camera was fantastic and it has a portrait mode that makes me feel like I can be a real photographer. I took so many pictures that day and couldn't wait to get inside of the theme park. I had to get my giant turkey leg first, because the baby inside me was making me hungry. We went on a safari ride and I captured so many animals; from Monkeys to Giraffes , lions to Rhino's and even Hippos to Crocodiles... But It was just one animal that I had to see, that I needed to see. I patiently waited for the Elephants to appear. I felt like I was never going to see the elephants because we were driving so slow. I started to get anxiety really bad. (LOL) But as soon as we got about 20 mins around the wilderness, we approached a beautiful herd of Elephants and I tried my best to hold-in my excitement. When I laid my eyes on the baby calf I had to make sure that I capture a portrait of him drinking water out of the stream. It was such a beautiful scene. The mother Elephant stood not to far from him. I even name him "Shadow". That name fits him so well because he was a complete shadow of his mother. I wasn't sure if the elephant was male or female, I just assumed. He seemed like he was so well groomed and independent. He seems like he weighs over 600 lbs; Being that elephants are the worlds largest animal. I have crystal statues of elephants all over my home. Every year I would get a gift that had something to do with my favorite animal in the world. I must say that this was the best day of my life. Who would of ever thought that my Iphone could capture such a beautiful moment. I pray that I get this chance again in the future. I was like a kid in the candy store. Now I cant wait to go back for more!!

camera
1

About the Creator

Dominique Gray

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.