Photography logo

The Beauty of Boudoir

The type of picture I never knew I needed.

By Ashley Beatty-PernettiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Boudoir model Margery, 2021

I've always enjoyed photography. The art of capturing beauty, natural or staged, has intrigued me for as long as I can remember. In April of 2021, I decided to take my passion to the next level and start a business. In a matter of weeks, I quickly came to realize that I had a special eye for sensual and empowering shots. Enter, Boudoir.

After reaching out on social media, a good friend of mine offered to model for me so I could begin building my portfolio. We had taken photos together in the past and decided to stick with the style we were used to, Only this time, we had the professional camera and editing software to really make some magic. She had beautiful lace pieces, silk ties, heels and robes and everything in between. It was this shoot that really spoke to me, and I just knew - Boudoir is where it's at.

As I continued booking Boudoir clients, I felt the confidence pour out of these women. Beautiful curves, natural lighting, silhouettes. And the smiles, my God, the smiles these women had when they saw themselves.

"I never realized how beautiful my body is." This is the kind of thing I would hear from my clients.

Most of the women that booked with me struggled with some form of mental health illness or body dysmorphia, so seeing these genuine reactions just made my heart melt - especially because I know exactly how they feel.

I felt more and more inspired with each shot, and eventually started taking self portraits to see what all the hype was about.

Now, I had taken pictures of myself before this. Selfies, with my phone. Whatever, you know, who hasn't? But top quality photos with a DSLR camera and good a editing software just hit different.

Eventually, my husband offered to take some shots of me, too. We quickly realized that he has an eye for it. Maybe he just has an eye for my body, but he hit a home run with my photos.

Photo by my husband, 2021

The confidence I felt during and after my self-shoot and the shoots with my husband is something I can't even begin to explain. I felt beautiful. I LOOKED beautiful. And the photos captured those feelings. My face, my body, they radiated feminine power.

Like I said, I've had several clients claim they aren't comfortable in their skin, all of them with different reasons. And let me tell you - the photos we took changed their minds, just like they did for me. These women all looked stunning, but more importantly, they FELT stunning. That empowering feeling is phenomenal, and once you get a taste, you'll keep coming back for more.

The beauty of boudoir is there's no limits to what can be done or who can participate. Men and women of all shapes, sizes and colors. At the model's discretion, anything goes!

Maternity Boudoir model Ally, 2021

I've always preached body positivity and acceptance, as I've struggled with body dysmorphia for years. Understanding the importance of these is crucial, especially for us women in today's society, always telling us what the "perfect body" is supposed to look like. Boudoir photography is just a small contribution to the body positivity movement, and I hope more people start to participate after reading this. Regardless of how you participate, just remember that ALL bodies are beautiful and worthy.

I know it can be overwhelming, scary, and very well out of your comfort zone. But it's worth it. Let us photographers help you see your beauty, even if you don't think it's there. I promise you, it is.

art
3

About the Creator

Ashley Beatty-Pernetti

Wife. Mom. Creator.

Just a messy 29-year-old, wading her way through life, one word at a time.

Raising mental health awareness with the written word and firsthand experience.

Both fiction and non-fiction stories to nourish your soul.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.