Photography logo

Taking Nature for Granted

Your Kangaroo are our Deer

By ANGELA HEINEPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

In my neighborhood I see squirrels, coyotes, raccoons, possums, cooper hawks, and red-tailed hawks often. I don't really think about how there might be some people in the world that would be in awe of these animals, because I will just spot them in my yard. I also hadn't thought about how there were places where I could see animals that I would be in awe of without having to go on a safari. That's until I got to Australia and discovered that amazing animals were all around the cities I was visiting. I couldn't imagine that there were people that just see these animals daily.

Needless to say I was excited to see every single one of them. One of those animals I was in awe of was the kangaroo. I happened to be staying with family who lived by a field that the kangaroos went to every morning. I had brought my new 500mm lens that my husband got me for my birthday, so I could pretend to be a professional wildlife photographer. It's quite the heavy piece to lug around, but it is so much fun. I got up before the sun was rising one morning and went to the field. There the kangaroos were. I'd say at least 60 or so kangaroos. Some were grazing on tall green grass. Some were fighting or practicing fighting. They seemed to be having more fun than being angry. Some were taking care of their joeys. Either carrying them in their cozy pouch or helping them get some breakfast. I just sat watching them quietly for awhile. They weren't bothered by me sitting there and they kept about their morning routine. Then as the sun started to shine bright I started to take some photos. Ok I started to take a lot of photos. I balanced the heavy lens with some terrible posture and clicked away. I can often sit around complaining of my back hurting or my feet hurting, but when I have a camera in my hands all of that goes away. I may be feeling pain, but I never notice as I snap photos of another incredible animal. There were so many kangaroos around it was hard to decide who I should have my camera pointed at. I kept flitting from kangaroos pushing each other with their hind legs, to others grazing peacefully. But watching this joey with her mama was one of the highlights. I was glad I could capture this moment they were sharing together. They were in their moment together with no concern of what was going on around them.

I always get a little smile when I see any animal, even if it is our backyard squirrels, but going to Australia was eye opening on how many amazing animals you can spot on your travels. The beautiful birds were everywhere you turned. Colorful feathers would flutter by. Listening for bird calls that sound like monkeys. Fantastic fishes that swim around beautiful coral. Sharks quickly slipping by trying to go unnoticed. Bats hanging from trees that line the street. Majestic spiders building huge webs in the rainforest. Adorable green ants that seem interested in checking you out as much as you are them. Delightful koalas cuddled up high on trees. And of course these gorgeous kangaroos. The height of humans. Their huge back legs looking so strong.

I remember stopping at a gas station and the clerk said, "Where are you from?" I said, "California." He said, "Oh you have bears there." I said, "Yes, but you have to luck out to see them. Here you can see so many amazing animals without even trying."

art
Like

About the Creator

ANGELA HEINE

Always trying to find the right words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.