Photography logo

Sun Kissed On A Work Day

The Sun Kissed My Melanated Skin

By Merlin MystiquePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Taken with Apple 11 Pro Max

The work day is always unique for me. I try to find some type of way to embrace the sunshine in that day. On this particular day the sun was shining bright. The warmth of the sun kissed my melanin in a way that sowed joy into my soul's field.

I was playing some Chaka Khan and Anita Baker to put myself in a peppy mood before starting my shift for the day. I had tried some new things with my make up and I felt like a golden goddess. I realized that I had not yet taken a photo of my look. It was a conquest for me to capture the essence of that Thursday morning.

While I was in traffic I decided to pull out my iPhone 11 Pro Max and snap a few quick selfies. I decided to play with different angles and to work with the light of the golden eye. I wanted to give my self-esteem a boost after receiving some rather rude comments on social media in regards to my physical appearance. I also felt the need to take more pictures to show that I had made a mark on the world.

With that being said, I pulled out my phone and clicked on the camera application. I decided not to use the live feature this particular time. I honestly didn't even see the need to zoom in. I just wanted the photo to be real and unedited. With that being said, I took the phone into my hand and I began snapping.

I decided to try different poses. I would smile in some, while others I would produce a slight grin.

On this particular picture I just decide to give a somber, yet polite expression. The sun was the best lighting that I could've ever had that particular morning.

This one is my favorite

However, out of the selfies that I took that day, I really have one favorite. It showcases the right side of my face. I had forgotten that I had my blue tooth in my ear to hear my GPS report on traffic. The sun gave my skin a bronze glow while it also enhanced the brown hew of my pupils. You could see the joy that possessed my soul.

After viewing the selfie session, I began to reviewing the pictures before I had to clock in. The pictures were simply perfect. There was no need for me to edit the pictures at all. I happened to look at the background of my favorite picture of my right side. I noticed that it looked like a movie still. I couldn't believe what I was looking at.

After looking at the picture, I decided that I would title this picture "Sun Kissed." That title is very befitting because the sun kissed my skin and caused a bronze glow from my melanin.

To think that shooting this shot was just a simple selfie is beyond amazing. It also showed off my hair stylist's handiwork as well. It gave the perfect shadowing and highlighting of my nose and cheeks.

I did not use any apps or filters to enhance the photo at all. There was no need to go further with editing. The picture was perfect without any filters or enhancements.

Since the January 9th, 2020 photo session, I have posted the picture. It has received hundreds of likes and retweets on social media. I dare say that this picture to date is one of my most well received selfies.

The photo that I have deemed as my favorite has really encouraged me in ways that I cannot explain. It exudes an inner beauty that is quite evident on the outside.

I look forward to taking more selfies with the perfect lighting very soon.

art
Like

About the Creator

Merlin Mystique

Hi. I'm Merlin. I'm a Black Transgender Woman. This is My Evolution

Twitter MerinMystique

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.