Photography logo

Spike

When a mum finds herself again.

By Jessica JoycePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Over coming challenges

I don't really know where to start with my story of getting this picture but I want to start from when I was 21 years old and had a passion for photography. I was given my first camera for my 21st birthday present. I was over the moon and felt like my life was full of possibilities, adventure and anything was possible. Where ever I went my camera came with me and I was rarely ever seen without my camera. Unfortunately for me a few years later my camera was sold for $100 by my then abusive boyfriend because he wanted cigarettes and alcohol. My laptop also disappeared going with it all of my photo's of my newborn baby and any photography I had a done. It broke my heart, as a new single mum I couldn't afford to buy a new one.

I felt like my dreams were crushed and had lost hope and myself for many years. I decided to focus on being a single mum and doing the best thing for my daughter at the time. Until I seen this challenge I had forgotten how much I loved my hobby. I had forgotten a huge piece of myself.

About a year ago I was given a large blue tongue skink, she had always lived in captivity and was being neglected. I happily took her on and didn't realize the joy a lizard would bring into my life. My now 7 year old daughter loves her very much and has renamed her "spike". Surprisingly she loves attention and enjoys cuddling up into the neck area. We allow her to crawl on the table and eat her food. My daughter was overjoyed to bring her for "show and tell" and do a speech about her lizard.

Then about 2 months ago I was asked if I wanted to look after a baby blue tongue skink that had been saved from a cats mouth out in the veggie garden. I was ever so keen as we had the space and what she needed available. I was pre warned about then not being homed together and very mindful so I arranged separate aquariums for them. The baby was very quickly part of our family and has been named "Baby Spike" until a better name was thought of- that better name still hasn't come to pass.. yet!

When cleaning out baby Spike's place I placed her in with Big Spike. i became concerned when I couldn't find her only to find her under the heat rock curled up next to Big. They have been together ever since and even with two rocks they share the same one. I think because big spike is so placid and easy going and baby is so small they just get along.

When I seen this challenge I begged my mum to borrow her camera to see what I could come up with. I put the lizards in a container and took them to the river for a photo shoot. I found a log that I thought would look good and give that natural feel, while having the river in the back ground. Baby Spike was not as cooperative but eventually decided a glam shoot was best. I had to try to a few different angles I was trying to get the lizards at eye level to help capture their absolutly striking features. Even know they're not real mum and baby I like to think they're happy they found each other.

I feel inspired and like a glimps of my 21st is back. I feel like after years of feeling lost a piece of me has been found. So that's the story of how a single mum got a piece of herself back. While including her love and Joy. So thank you Vocal for the opportunity.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Joyce

Always happy for constructive criticism and advice. Please comment what you think :)

I'm new to writing and am enjoying the journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.