Photography logo

Shooting In The Dark

The life of a music photographer and publisher

By Monika SMITHPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Merci Mercy @ Next Exit Festival, Gosford

I have been a live music photographer for a very long time and I have seen the music industry has been one of the hardest hit over the last year. There is so much uncertainty. There are days where you think you have work, and then at the last moment. The rug is ripped from underneath you. This means not only do all the bar/venue staff lose work, the photographers, the band, the security, lighting and sound guys. Everyone is impacted negatively for this.

What most people do not know is those people you see taking those shots while in the bands are playing; is not getting paid at all. I mean there are some who luck out but most publications cannot pay because they themselves do not get paid.

People constantly complain about the measly money that comes in from playing live music or being in a band but at the end of the day that photographer taking those spectacular images you see online receives absolutely no money.

We do it for the love of it, we do it for the experience and we are far more passionate about live music than most people.

That is what I have always done not only do I get to do what I love, what I do in turn helps the musicians, and it helps the venues. I get to do what brings me joy and happiness while watching others do what they were put on the earth to do. I get to be part of that and I get to capture moments they all get to look back with fondness and are reminded of chasing their dreams.

I noted that the market was saturated with photographers but there was little to no support for musicians as soon as Covid hit. A lot of photographers put their cameras on the shelf and did nothing to continue to support the industry.

This is where I pulled my boot straps up, rolled up my sleeves and hunched over my laptop to create Rawing In The Pit Media. A publishing company that for 30 - 60hours a week (depends on the intensity of the releases) posting about every genre, any band both big and small. Supporting live streaming shows. Supporting all the new video clips, song releases and anything else I could do to keep music alive. All for free. All for the passion.

The business has grown, but the financial support has not. Due to Covid I lost my bar job, my photography job and my job selling foreign currency. I struggled with multiple health issues which the Drs are still yet to diagnose (I have more tests to go and more Drs to see - going on 9 months later!) but I keep on pushing keep on working, shining the light on people who make us dance, make us sing at the top of our lungs, that fill our lives with memories, bring us up from when we are down, keep us company we are drowning in darkness.

Music is so essential to our lives, and I will continue to do what I do, day in day out. Even though some days it gets a little emotional, I wonder why I do it and I think to myself "Will I ever be able to financially support myself again?"

I get a message out of nowhere from thanking me for my support and letting me know that what I do matters.

I started this in October 2019 and I have seen my little baby grow. I have made connections with multiple bands, promoters and music industry types who all benefit from my hard work, from all of my support. This brings me so much joy and it has saved me from so many days of darkness. I am so proud of myself for creating a safe and supportive space for anyone who is feeling creative or anyone who just wants to reach for the stars.

career
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.