Photography logo

Shimmering Sun

Disappearance of the perfect picture.

By Katie MorsePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

As I sit inside the house, hours ticking by, I can’t help but feel that the sun would be spectacular tonight. So as sundown neared, I grabbed my Canon t7i and headed out back to the farm. The air was fresh and clean, a good sign for a nice summer, but as I looked up, the thought of the clean, crisp air cleared my mind. All I could think about now was the shimmering of the sun just above eye level. My gut was right, the sun is beautiful tonight. I can only think of how much I am enjoying this moment as I snap the perfect picture. However, as quickly as the snap from my camera, the sun has set. I guess I really enjoyed the moment, because I only got one perfect picture.

The sun rose almost as quickly as it had disappeared last night, but as I sat in bed, all I could think about was that shimmering sun. I ended my night so perfectly, capturing the moment through my camera, but it almost seems surreal. I only have one picture to prove that moment occurred. So what if it was a dream? I don’t know how it could’ve happened, but it’s the only thing that makes sense as I groggily climb out of bed. I washed my face with a splash of cold water and grabbed my camera, I could only hope to capture another perfect picture today as I did yesterday. This time, I’m not only bringing my camera but also my new sense of awareness. I will make sure to not let another perfect moment slip away; but there was a problem. As I stare down at my camera screen, there is nothing there. It’s as if the perfect picture has disappeared. Shocked at the disappearance of my photo, I can only think I was right. It was a dream. But how could I dream of such an extraordinary moment? Baffled, I continue on with my day as I attempt to continue the search for the perfect picture. Once again, the sun was near eye level when I stumbled back home and out back to the farm. I can’t believe it; am I dreaming again? Is this happening? “Wow, talk about déjà vu” I say to myself as I stare off into the sky. I figure I should raise my camera and capture this moment, however all I can think about is how this must be another dream. But at last, I raise my trusty canon t7i to the sky, and snap a photo. This time I make sure not to get lost in the sky, I’ve got a job to do. So I take multiple pictures, but only one stands out. I-I can’t believe it, I did it again! The perfect picture! However, a slight discomfort comes over me as I realize; this is the exact picture from my dream? It can’t be. How could this be happening? Did I dream about the future? Or am I still dreaming? As I contemplate my entire reality, I go back home. “Today was a long day” I tell myself, I'm probably just imagining things. But alas, as I get back up the next morning and look at my camera, there it is. The perfect picture. It’s there this time, it's right there on my screen. I don’t know what’s happening, but all I can feel is a sense of pride.

As a 15-year-old, trying to find and capture images that will appeal to the eye is a difficult task. I have yet to learn how to see through other people's eyes and view my photos in their perspective. That is one thing I struggle with when taking on the challenge of photography, I never know what to take pictures of. Choosing the perfect photo for this challenge was nothing short of that, a challenge. But when I at look at my photos through other people's perspective, I find it easier to pick the perfect picture. This, I feel, is the perfect picture.

camera
1

About the Creator

Katie Morse

Hello, my name is Katie Morse. I'm only 15 years old but I am very interested in photography and where it could take me in the future. I still need to work on my skills, but I'm very proud of what I've been able to accomplish so far.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.