Photography logo

Quackers

December 19, 2020

By Flying AcePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I took this photo with a borrowed 600 mm lens. It was my first time using a lens of that size and I have to say that it was very cool to use that lens. In a way, I felt like a photographer for National Geographic and that was a great feeling.

The reason that I named this piece "Quackers" is partly due to the fact that the duck had its mouth open at this time. Which when I found out he did, made me even more excited about this photo. When I took the shot, I didn't know that he had his mouth open, so it was a great surprise.

However, let me describe the scenery in which I found Mr. Quackers. In all honesty, when my father told me that one of his old coworkers invited him to go take photos, and I tagged along, I didn't think much of the place. Also, I don't own a 600 mm lens which as seen above worked perfectly. So I didn't think I would be able to take great photos, but when we got settled my father's friend let me borrow his. I was like, whoa this is so cool.

So there we were taking photos of these beautiful Sandhill Cranes that came from Canada all the way down here in AZ, and of course, I also took pictures of ducks. I gotta admit that it is no easy feat to handle a 600 mm lens without a tripod. There were plenty of times where I couldn't get a clear shot because of how much my arm was shaking, but I did get some good shots. It was honestly so beautiful and so amazing to be able to take pictures of these beautiful birds.

As the day progressed we were able to see waves and waves of these cranes. They would be right in front of us and all the way towards the mountains on the horizon. I kept telling my father that it looked like the birds from the lion king or from a national geographic film. What was once blue water was soon covered by grey birds. My dad's friend said that these cranes would rest at the spot that we were at, in the morning they would go and feed off the cornfields near the mountains and then return back to the preserve. It was honestly very beautiful.

It was also due to the fact of how well my nature pictures turned out that I decided to get more into photography. Right now I have my father's old camera and its a pretty good camera. On one of my other social accounts I have this quote in my bio, "There is one thing the photograph must contain, the humanity of the moment." — Robert Frank. I really like this quote because it is true. The best photographers became great because they captured the human aspect in their photos, which should be the goal of all photographers. It's very similar to the movies. In order to get people to remeber your movie, it must touch their heartstrings.

Photography is an amazing art that can capture many words in just one picture. Very much how art and music express emotions and feelings that could otherwise not be expressed with words.

I want to continue in photography and perhaps this will be the first of many photos that I will upload and discuss. So I hope you all like that and that eventually, my future photos will be enjoyable. So enjoy and I hope you all had a wonderful and merry Christmas!!

camera
1

About the Creator

Flying Ace

Jesus loving, American Patriot

"The price of freedom is high, it always had been. And it's a price I'm willing to pay. And if I'm the only one, so be it." - Captain America

Psalm 121

Psalm 90

Psalm 23

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.