Photography logo

Photography

Not just a picture

By George gPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Old Furnace State Park

When I snap the shutter of my camera. It takes time to find what I plan on shooting. When I take a photo trip my day is planned on where I will go. I have gone to places expecting to get a story and have left with nothing. then there are times I just bring my camera just incase and have filled half a memory card (500ish photos). My vision is unclear I look for something that no one else sees. Sometimes it is easy sometimes not. The story can be ugly or beautiful. I have thousands of shots not all good however I can tell you where most of them were captured.

I look at bark on trees sometimes it tells a story. I saw a bird fighting with a crab and needed the story captured 17 pictures telling the story. Looking at the sky can tell a story.

I have sold one photo for more than I expected and it was one I did not care for. A friend of mine asked how much I wanted, I always say what do you think is fair, he responded what do you want I told him for me to break even I wanted 30 dollars, he offered 40. I took half and donated to a local place that is going to have trouble making rent soon.

I am not looking to get rich from my photography however I am looking to make something. Turning something that would normally be considered ugly into a stunning masterpiece. Looking for my next shot all the time. I once took a photo with my friend from work's phone and she said it was ugly it was one of my favorite pictures. The quality of the photograph is not all the equipment, it is a combination between the lens, the eye of the photographer and the camera. Sometimes an amazing photo can be taken with a junky camera. Some of my best photos have been with my smartphone. Sometimes you can add to the story with editing. I try not to edit my shots unless the color comes out wrong or I would rather it be monochrome. The shot needs to be dramatic, abstract, beautiful, action. I never can tell what I will take. Every photograph tells a story. Once some stories are worth sharing if you ask about a photograph I captured, I could tell you where I was, what time of day it was, what was going through my mind at the time. I mostly shoot in full manual including focus. I like to have the control because I have missed shots do to over focusing in autofocus. Photography is an art form not everyone has an eye. I look at Photos and see the good in all of it I also see the bad. However the bad comes to the surface first. I used to share every shot I took on social media. Now I select a few for social media.

Masterpieces come in all form. I do not feel my technique is the best. I look at other works and say that is way better than I could do. I also see a lot of work that and say I can do better. I look for in other works mainly the sharpness the clarity of the subject the bokeh. If it feels like I am there at the moment. Can I relate to the subject.

I appreciate all other artists of all forms of media. I enjoy creativity. When the spark comes take advantage add beauty to the world, tell a story with a photograph. Not just a picture. If you read this and feel inspired to tell a story thank you. Thanks for reading. Keep coming.

art
Like

About the Creator

George g

I am a recovering alcoholic, photographer, I enjoy hiking, reading, learning, watching TV, movies and YouTube, listening to podcasts and music and other things

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.