Photography logo

Photography in 2021

Turning photography from hobby, side hustle, maybe career?

By Matthew SposatoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

I first took up photography as a hobby in order to make a little extra money. I was less than successful, even after a few years. For a couple of good reasons. I wasn't exactly on top with popular demand. And everyone I reached to on social media only looked and gave comments. Even after setting up my own photography site. One that offers prints, mugs, bookmarks, etc... I still make little to no money. And I haven't taken any new photos worth uploading in a long while. I even thought of offering to do photography services in my spare time briefly. But I decided to stay home when the COVID-19 pandemic hit. 2020 wasn't exactly a good year for anybody. But with 2021 just around the corner. I've decided to do things a little differently for the upcoming New Year. I'm seriously considering on taking up a pro photography course online. I really hate to brag, but I'm fairly skilled as an amateur photographer. But I figure my best bet on getting an actual photography job or set myself up as a freelance photographer is to get a professional certification. I know for a fact that tuition for an online photography school isn't gonna be cheap. Then again, the camera I have my eye on is also rather expensive. And I'm considering a laptop tablet to use for business purposes. I'm expecting it to be bit of a gamble. But it's a gamble I look forward to taking. Maybe I'll get to be a self-employed photographer with well paying clients. Or at least a side-hustle that'll cover the expenses for a long overdue vacation.

Web address to site: sposatophotography.zenfolio.com

My photography site offers custom products made in printing labs. Not just photo prints and canvas'. There is also mugs, bookmarks, jewelry boxes, jigsaw puzzles, keychains with flashlights, etc... In short, I do have physical products to offer. But it takes around a week after placing the order. The printing process happens within a few days. Plus a few extra days for shipping. Which no one seems to ever do on my site. Even with a Client Login option to help make things easier for coming and returning clients. So I decided to order some mugs off my own site in order to have physical products ready to buy. Then I realized the long term would be expensive. And I figured it would be smarter to set up a small photography gig for slightly better income odds. But I'm actually considering on taking a professional photography course online. Why? Getting an actual certification would help me find work as a photographer. Once I enroll for the online professional photography course. I intend to graduate as soon as I can. Other than course tuition, I'm considering on getting a tablet PC. It would be a useful tool to have for photography studies. So I can complete the course assignments on days when I'm not home. Plus the tablet PC would also be useful for freelance photography gigs. To upload photos into the client's gallery shortly after the session.

Once I graduate from the online pro photography course. I'm gonna try to land as many small freelance gigs as I can during my spare time. I wanna earn as much extra money as I can while updating a portfolio for the photography gigs I want. I'm thinking about getting a travel photography gig as soon as it's safe enough to travel by plane. International travel should open up bit by bit as the number of COVID-19 cases drop down enough. Until then, I'm better off getting as many gigs as I can manage. I seriously doubt I'll get many wedding or event photography clients, if any... Thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic. And social distancing... It would be smart to consider offering photography services that doesn't involve being surrounded by masses of people. Always a good idea to consider the demand. Portrait photography is reasonably private enough. And I can charge service fees accordingly. Whether it's a solo person, pair, and group size. Although more successful photographers have real estate gigs. Apartment buildings and houses are often on the market. Whether they've been refurbished or built brand new. Real estate agents often need new photos to help sell, buy, rent, and resell. Keeping myself open for a local magazine or newspaper would also help. Whatever type of photography I decide to take up. I look forward to having a new career in 2021.

career
2

About the Creator

Matthew Sposato

Hobbyist writer and aspiring author.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.