Photography logo

Photography as a Hobby

My Experiences as an Amateur Photographer

By Duncan AinsworthPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

About seven years ago I started taking photos using a Bridge Camera, something of an in-between a point and shoot camera and a fancy DSLR camera. I thought I could do with a creative outlet and photography came easy-ish to me. It didn't feel like a major effort to teach myself the basics; it's all I needed to know really. I knew I was never going to be a professional or full-time photographer. I wanted to have some fun and see where it took me. I have had fun learning how to use cameras and how to shoot the best shots that I can. Today I’ll be writing about my experiences as a hobby photographer, things that I’ve learnt, and things I want to try.

I took up photography as a hobby as I didn’t really have a creative outlet at the time and I was incredibly fortunate to have a friend who was kind enough to give me a bridge camera to use as an entry point to the hobby. I will always be thankful to this friend, as I’ve grown to really enjoy photography. I feel it has been a thoroughly positive enjoyable experience and I’ve learnt some interesting things through the years.

I have always been more comfortable taking landscape photos of natural things. I found it easier to get to grips with than, say, candid shots of people or action shots. I also was never a fan of posed photos; they always feel like they are set up and forced. I think more interesting "people shots" as I call them are ones where the subject is only vaguely aware of their photo being taken when they are relaxed and look like they are enjoying themselves. I also don’t feel comfortable asking people to pose for a photo or just taking photos without people’s permission. I feel like both can be quite intrusive on a person’s day in different ways; for example, asking people to pose for a shot interrupts their day and potentially anything they were involved in at the time.

I find that taking photos can be relaxing. Taking the time out to go somewhere and see what is out there catches your eye, whether it’s going for a walk around the local area or doing it while on holiday can be a great way to unwind. It also is a great excuse to get active and do a bit of exercise, which is never a bad thing. I always try to capture photos that are interesting to look at or that promote natural beauty of a place, the things that are under appreciated in our little worlds and things that people might not take a second look at. I look for things people would consider beautiful, without having to change anything, I don’t feel the need to stage beauty. I like to find it in how things are and draw people’s attention to it.

I would say the most useful thing I’ve learnt has all been about getting the right exposures in different lighting and being able to make the most of various lighting. I would like to get better at lower lighting photos, though. I would also like to learn how to use different filters and what sort of scenarios to use them in.

Now that I have a few years of taking photos behind me I think it would be interesting to try and take different photos. For example, I run a dog walking business, and being able to take some photos of the dogs could be quite interesting. I would also like to get better at taking better photos of people as well. Although it’s not my favourite type of photography, I would like to be able to improve my ability to do it. I recently bought a telephoto lens so I would like to be able to learn how to get the most out of it. I also recently acquired some film cameras, so learning how to take photos using a film camera and developing the film would be quite interesting I think. I would love to be able to take a wide variety of shots at least competently, to be able to share my world as I see it. Maybe this can be a project of mine soon and see where it takes me.

camera
Like

About the Creator

Duncan Ainsworth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.