Photography logo

Photography

Why I find photography so cool

By Jade RenteriaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Taken by Jade Renteria

I just quit my job and I always wanted to travel. So I went aboard with my best friend. When I came back, I had awhile to think about what I want in life. Where do I want to be in the next 3, 4, or 5 years from now? So I decided to take a class to help me improve as I go to a different career path. I recently started taking a photography class online. First, I thought it's would be easy and that I would finish it sooner. As I get into the class with videos and assignment, I realized that it's was not easy but it's fascinating at the same time. To see the history and the art of the camera as they copied our eyes... The more I falls into photography, the more I learned to love it.

There are so many things I want to share about what I learned in the class but it's a lot so I will share few things that helped me. I hope it's help you to enjoy the art of photography like I do.

Taken by Jade Renteria

Photography have 3 main things that we used for all kinds of photos.

1) Aperture: it's control how much light go in and out. (Iris) the hole inside the camera lens that let in light. (more light=bigger aperture) * smaller=darker, bigger=lighter

2) ISO: the sensitivity of your camera's sensor to light (decrease or increase) * increasing too much ISO can cause digital noise/grain

3) Shutter Speed: moving object=faster shutter speed to "freeze" that object * a faster shutter speed=less light is let in, a slower shutter speed=more light is let in

TERMS:

There are many different terms that are used in photography such as exposure, metering, compensation, dynamic range, histogram, composition, balance & symmetry, and I can list more. But those are some terms examples.

MODES:

There are different kinds of modes such as portrait mode, macro mode, landscape mode, sports mode, fireworks mode, beach/snow mode, night mode, monochrome mode, and panoramic mode. My personal favorite is portrait mode and monochrome mode. So cool!

TYPE OF CAMERA:

I always thought that there is only one kind of camera (DSLR). Not until I learn about another kind of camera other than (DSLR). There are 2 different kinds of camera. (DSLR) and (mirrorless). What is the difference?

DSLR: Digital Single Lens Reflex = the mirror opens & closes to expose the sensor to the light * DSLR's viewfinder allows you to see everything in real time

Mirrorless camera: a camera with no mirror. It has a viewfinder that is actually an electronic display of what your sensor is seeing * a mirrorless camera actually show you a preview of the exposure of the photo based on your setting

TIPS:

Long exposure: Tip 1) increase your depth of field and F-stop Tip 2) find a focal point Tip 3) choose the right lens Tip 4) shoot at the right time * Golden Hour Tip 5) straighten your horizons

Low Light: Tip 1) know how high you can push your ISO Tip 2) know how low you can push your shutter speed Tip 3) shoot them 'wide open' and decrease F-stop Tip 4) use manual focus Tip 5) use stabilization (tripod)

Photo Editing: Tip 1) crop/make the image smaller before you exit Tip 2) healing brush to erase any dirt/scratch on the product Tip 3) edit the color balance (black and white) Tip 4) check details if needed Tip 5) add effect if wanted Tip 6) change/add white/or shadows Tip 7) rectangle/click exposure to remove any line

Macro: Tip 1) use a macro lens (50-60mm is good but 100mm give more options) Tip 2) choose a point of focus Tip 3) use a flash Tip 4) use a tripod

Street/Architecture: Tip 1) be aware of your surrounding Tip 2) stick to one focal length Tip 3) choose your own style Tip 4) look for lines Tip 5) tell a story

I really enjoy learning photography. The lesson that I'm taking really helps me a lot. So this lesson notes are from the class that I'm taking. Hope this helps you guys. I hope you guys enjoy this. Thank you.

how to
2

About the Creator

Jade Renteria

”ART is something that makes you breathe with a different kind of happiness.” - Anni Albers

“Writing is hard work. But if you want to become a writer you will become one. Nothing will stop you.” - Dorothy Day

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.