Photography logo

One day

One day

By david williamsPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

When I was in kindergarten, every night, my mother would tell me a story before I went to bed. At that time I was still illiterate, looking at the strange symbols in the book, my heart was full of curiosity, what are these symbols? Why did Mom make them such good stories? I've been thinking about this problem, but I can't figure it out.

Next thing I know, I'm on the middle shift. One day, my mother took out a stack of new word card, said to me: "Add add, you are now in class, is not small, should know a few words, today, I will teach you to know a few simple words." Mom pointed out the first new word card. "This is the first word you need to learn. It's a number called one..." In this way, in just a few days, I already know a lot of characters, often use this ability to show off to my family.

One day, our family went out to play, came to the bus stop waiting for the bus, opposite came a sprinkler, in order to let everyone boast of my literacy results, I deliberately read twice aloud the word on the car: "wine car! Drink cart!" The people around me burst into laughter. Puzzled, I turned and asked, "Mom, why are they laughing like that?" Mother said: "That word can not read 'wine', that is the sprinkler 'sprinkle'." After listening to my mother's explanation, I knew that I had read it wrong and bowed my head in shame.

This is the first time I understand the magic of Chinese characters. So many words that look similar, but have very different meanings and sounds. Since then, I have been secretly determined to learn Chinese characters. Now, I have the fifth grade, learn more knowledge of Chinese characters, know the pictographic characters, ideographic characters, phonographic characters, but also know a lot of interesting Chinese puzzles, I will continue to explore in the ocean of Chinese characters!

Our Chinese characters, the shape is correct, every word has its own evolution process, when it comes to the word, I can not help but think of......

In the first grade, I was very unfamiliar with Chinese characters. Always write Chinese characters in pieces, horizontal write crooked, vertical also write crooked, whenever I open my first grade homework, all feel ten parts ugly, disgusting.

In the blink of an eye, I was in the fifth grade, now the word is dozens of times better than the first grade do not know, the whole is relatively good, looks very comfortable. Horizontal write flat, vertical write straight, Chinese is also some at least to understand.

Among them, in the third grade, hair rope a very funny thing. So I remember, when I write a composition to write a sentence: "loquat is my favorite fruit to eat." But I don't know whether to write loquat or pipa. Because the exam time is coming, so I guess one, wrote "pipa is my favorite fruit to eat." When the teacher commented on the composition, he said, "Big brother, pipa is a musical instrument, not a fruit. You are eating pipa. Can you grow some brains?" Suddenly, the whole class burst into laughter, my face also red. Every time I think of it, I can't help smiling.

Remember once, I in the street clothing store, see "clothes do not give up" this idiom, I asked my mother what it means, she explained. In a composition, I used this idiom: "My partner will leave me, I will not give up my clothes." This write, but the students all laugh crazy, the teacher said: "You are not willing to clothes ah? Remember, "reluctant to part" is a single person with a clothes clothes!" He wrote the word on the blackboard, very large, and punished me to write the word "reluctantly" 50 times.

This is my experience with Chinese characters. Guys, do you have any funny stories like this? Share with us!

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.