Photography logo

On Top of the World

Hike

By Ahakim YussifPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

This picture was taken whilst hiking on a mountain fool of rocks. It was the highest hike I had ever been to and the view was entirely worth it . It took hours for me and a group of my friends to get to the top of the elevation whilst taking various of shots I finally got the picture. The picture seemed to imitate a still image of my ambitions, the high peaks and boulders , resembling my aspirations and goals . I love this picture as it wasn’t planned, and it shows a true combination of artificial art and nature ; the city ; the sky and the sea. Almost like bringing the four elements together. A part of the picture that may not be noticeable that stood out to me was the little bush next to the rock. It gave the picture a settling , comfortable and unblemished feeling. We tend to forget nature when we live in the city and once in a while a hike can really remind us of our beautiful natural atmosphere and surroundings. I took this picture with my phone and didn’t apply any artificial format or setting to the original phone setting that it came with.

In addition, the photo shows small quaint houses and elevating commercial buildings. The occupied Ships can be seen from afar and the fluffy clouds in the sky balance the color of the accustomed and modernized buildings . Compared to the humongous boulders the ships looked like the size of a fruit fly. The balancing of the rock looked almost unstable however, in reality, the boulders were constructed very firmly by nature which created a great scene of picturesque . The view was unbelievable, and the fresh air was completely different at that altitude. There were no animals along the walk but dry, brittle sticks and that snapped crunched in every step I took sounding like music to my ears.

I still remember that day I took this photo . I was climbing the boulders on the mountains slowly as I didn’t want to get hurt , but all of my friends they had gone ahead of me , as I had told them not to worry about me. However, one of my friends in specific -who later on sat on the rock to take some rest- was the only one that remained to wait for me . We then finished the hike to the top of the mountain . Together. The photo never fails to remind me of how loved and special I felt at the moment .

I’m still amazed at how sharp the rocks looked like from the bottom when looking up to the mountain, once I reached the top all of the surfaces of the rocks where very smooth , thick and flat.

I took this picture without hesitation or consideration as I didn’t feel the need to , it simply looked stunning. Planes where flying in the sky and the sun was shining bright, what I would describe as a perfect temperature. I could feel the breeze from the wind. The picture was like a piece of art with a untold story behind it giving it mystery and suspense yet calming and intriguing.

I edited the picture by making minor changes to the colors. I added detail to the blue of the sky and the sea. Then I added detail to the rocks and the grass by using a website called Fotor which isn’t an application yet. In addition, I applied one more filter an Instagram filter Buenos Aires to enhance the picture even more.

Bellow is the picture before and after in addition to show my editing changes.

editing
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.