Photography logo

Lofi & Blue Skies

The music behind the photo

By sundiata forbesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

The one thing that inspires me the most is music. Ever since I was little my love for music has been an important factor in what connects me to the world and the people around me. My love for music is not just a fun fact about my character, but also has a lot to do with the outcome of this photo.

While enjoying my lunch break to my favorite lofi playlist “Smooth Guru” I look up from my table and notice how nicely the white apartments across the street are contrasting from the deep blue sky above it. While bobbing my head to some smooth grooves, I quickly grabbed my phone and tried to capture its beauty. These were my three favorites.

Photo number one stuck with me the most. I love the way the moon was suspended over the apartment in a sea of blue. I was entranced by the blue, almost as if I was getting sucked into it.

I decided to throw the photo onto photoshop express and the transformation process started. Because I was listening to my calming and relaxing lofi playlist, a wave of tranquility washed over me and my mind was stuck thinking of a way to portray these same feelings in the photo. Instantly my mind gravitated to spring. When I think of spring, I envision cool breezes, sunny pastel blue skies, and soft white clouds. In order to create a softer feel to the photo, I knew I would need to bring the saturation of the sky down. Once the saturation was reduced, the sky became softer and had a cooler feel to it. Before when the sky was deep blue, the photo had more of a warm, summer feel, but bringing the saturation down helped bring out the pastel colors. After I got the sky to the shade I wanted, it was time to focus on the building. I wanted the whites in the photo to really pop against the pastel blue. I needed it to contrast but not come off too strong. To create this effect,I increased the exposure and brought up the whites a little bit. This added a nice white washed look to the photo. I didn't want the sky and the building top to clash so I had to very slightly increase the blacks and shadows. This helped the building contrast against the sky. After that was done, the photo had a nice soft tranquil feeling to it. I was very satisfied with the outcome. The photo nicely resembled the way I was feeling when I took the photo. It had the same soft and tranquil feeling that Lofi playlist made me feel. To finish it off I added a tiny bit of grain to give it an old school film vibe to it.

In any other situation, I may not have noticed the hidden beauties right in front of me. Music has such an influence on me that if I was listening to another genre of music, I may not have visualized the picture the same. Because I was listening to such tranquil music, I was able to see the world through a more relaxed lense. Music is not only what connects me to the world but it also drives my creativity. With soft tunes in the background, I let my mind flow. Being creative has always been a passion of mine. From fashion, to photography, bringing my ideas to life is what I live for. Thanks to music my creativity has another source of inspiration. Music drives my emotions and my emotions drive my art.

art
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.