Photography logo

Letting go with photos

my take on a creative flow

By Donna Morgan Published 3 years ago 2 min read
5
leaf light

As a creative person, I love to learn new skills, new ways of creating and letting myself see through a different focal point.

I had always wanted to try photography now in my later years I found myself an inexpensive DSLR camera and began to play.

Finally, I felt worthy of using something so precious. It sounds stupid when you say it out loud but it was true. But as I got older and explored many creative outlets I began to let go.

I began to play

For me, this is what it's all about it's how I learn. Playing brings out the creative eye. Then doubt set in, I must learn I need to know how to use it correctly, how to set the camera correctly. To many hours reading how to take awesome shots and not enough practice. Then it happened failed shot after failed not clear shot. I hated what I was creating, but the drive and the passion to capture what I could see pushed me further. I stopped with the books and the how too's.

I found easy simple settings that could give me a quick this works with this and I let play take over.

The thing I love the most about photography is that 100 people can take a shot of the same thing and every one of them will be different in some way.

You see it's all about what you capture with your lens, your creative eye. For me, it's the smaller details the small world and the landscapes I feel a connection a magnetic pull to capture something a tree, a cloud, a stream of light, the raindrops on a leaf, the needles on a cactus, so many reasons to let yourself play.

So I encourage you to let yourself breathe relax and play with your camera your settings, Your creative lens. Let yourself see through your own perception.

Then point that camera and shoot.

Click away

Have I gotten any better? Yes because I know what I like in photos and I'm learning to create that for myself, I love the light and shadows the way things change as the light moves on the leaves or through them, the depth and layers that can be seen, the shades in black and white. I love it all. I may never be a professional photographer but I will always love the choices and the view photography gives me the way I capture the light and shadow the smaller details. I will cherish the moments of joy and play the endless hours of fun that it creates for me and some of the amazing shots I have taken.

I encourage you not to be scared to take bad photos that's how you learn to take good ones by learning what works for you and what doesn't . what you like and what you don't.

It's all in the lens you see through and your willingness to let go and have fun.

Happy creative photography

how to
5

About the Creator

Donna Morgan

I am a lover of the mystical the magical and the spiritual.

I write to heal myself and to share my journey with anxiety and life that I experience through my feelings.

I love to write it is my healing place.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.