Photography logo

Is This the Real Life? Is This Just Fantasy?

How to turn a regular photo into a fairytale.

By Isabel PearsonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6
“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all.”-Helen Keller

I like to treat life like a daring adventure even down to the pictures that I take. It brings me great happiness to look at a photo and think, “Hmm, what fairytale could have happened here?”

That is why I started editing my photos to mimic some of the greatest books that I have read or fairytales that I have believed. If you too are wanting to take the ordinary and turn it into the extraordinary then just follow my simple steps below.

Before and after.

1. Start by uploading your ordinary (unfiltered) photo to PicsArt. This is a free app and very simple to use. The photo I picked was actually a mistake photo from a photoshoot that I did. The lighting wasn't right so the image came out blurry. Now, it is one of my most favorite photos. Yay to mistakes!

2. You can dream up anything but for today I am going to show you how to create a sunflower wonderland. After the photo has been uploaded in the app, click on the Sticker button (fifth button from the left at the bottom of the page).

3. Type in Sunflower Fields and select the photo that best represents the way you are feeling.

4. Once uploaded the Opacity button should pop up. Turn the opacity down until you can see your photo laying underneath.

Left is step 4. Right is step 7.

5. Then click the Eraser tool which is at the top of the screen. Third button over from cancel. Zoom in and start slowly erasing away from what you want to show up in your own photo. In my case I chose to erase over myself running because I wanted that to show up. It should look like the photo above on the right once finished. You can also press the Restore button if you erased too much.

6. *Important* Do not press the apply button until you are 100% certain you are happy with the artwork because it can not be undone once pressed.

7. After the erasing process has finished. Turn the Opacity back to the level that you like. I always keep mine below 100 so that the two photos flow better together.

8. Next go back to Stickers and search Night Sky. Find the night sky you like and click on it. Repeat steps 4-7 until the sky is the way you would like. Shown Below.

Left is step 8. Right is steps 4-7 repeated.

9. Next I added a bouquet of yellow roses. To do this, repeat steps 4-7 again but this time type in bouquet of roses until you find the ones that best suit you.

10. Once completed download the photo and upload it to the Tezza App. I pay $1.99 a month for this app.

11. Once uploaded to Tezza. Click on the filter that best suits your photo. I used Vintage for this photo and turned it down to 45. Double tap the filter to turn it down. *It is important that you do not put a filter on any of the photos until this step to ensure that the whole photo is of the same quality.

Tezza App steps.

12. After your filter is picked click on the multiple lines button (third button from left on the bottom) and click on paper. I used Paper1 for this and turned it down to 35.

13. Now you can download your photo and share your wonderland with anyone you please or just keep it to remind yourself that fairytales do indeed exist! ;)

Here are some examples below of other things I have created with the help of photoshop and my imagination. You can find even more at my Instagram @daydreaming_pineapple

The left photo I used all of my own pictures to create. The right I used fairy wings from PicsArt.

I hope you are feeling inspired and ready to create! If you liked this please give me a little heart. :) Happy Editing!

XO, Isabel Pearson

Left photo I took on a sunny day at the Portland Rose Gardens. The right photo I took on a typical rainy day in Portland at my house.

editing
6

About the Creator

Isabel Pearson

I’ve been all over the world but the greatest place I have ever been has been inside of a book! I started writing at seventeen after realizing that some of my best adventures were when I was reading and I wanted to create some of my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.