Photography logo

Immortalizing the Good, the Bad and the Ugly

Art is everywhere for those who look

By Livier LefrankPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
The fall of overconsumption.

The long months of confinement most of us have lived since the pandemic outbreak sure had their ups and downs for me and for a lot of people, I can imagine. Keeping our sanity in a world going sick and mad is quite the challenge, especially since every window we open on society, like social media and television for a start, alienates us a bit more every day by reminding us of the crises going on all around the globe. We need distractions now more than ever before. In my case, I discovered a new passion in photography. Slowing down the pace of my daily life made me realize all the artistic, poetic potential of my surroundings. I had never truly taken the time before to think about the fact that every glimpse of reality can carry a message and convey an emotion. Art is everywhere for those who look for it and meanings are subjective, personal. There lies the true power of photography. Every picture, every moment can tell the story we want it to tell. Everything is a matter of perspective. I find this idea infinitely inspiring.

With that in mind, I picked up my old cellphone and started capturing the beauty and the ugliness of my environment and found out that a picturesque landscape has the same amount of photography potential than the grittiest, dirty corner. Since I took up this habit, I'm constantly seeking for meaningfulness, even in the most mundane objects. For me, photography is personal, introspective. It's almost therapeutic insofar as we do it for ourselves more than for the others. No amount of likes on social media could satisfy me more than looking at a picture I took that means something deeper for me.

As long as you have creativity and the will to slow down and see the world as a sandbox full of contexts and outlooks, you can do photography. You don't need an expensive lens to transform your surroundings into art. Play with the colors, the lightings, the angles ; every aspect of a picture can have a purpose, it all depends on your intent. Don't be afraid to be weird, just do you. One of my favorite picture I took is showing a knocked over grocery cart lying in Montreal's dirty snow to symbolize the fall of overconsumption after the pandemic outbreak.

Editing photos is just as fun as taking them. A particular filter can completely change the story behind the picture. A simple smile can go from warming to nostalgic with a touch of creativity. Being a writer, editing feels like narrating for me and this discovery has been exhilarating to say the least.

In a world where information become obsolete in the blink of an eye, photography, by its immortalizing power, is timeless. In my mind, there is no mistaken way to do it. Even those who take countless similar pictures of themselves in the mirror, the famous Instagram phenomenon, are doing some kind of justice to the art, insofar as going through their photos collection tells the story of a person aging, maturing, changing.

Besides Instagram and Facebook, there are plenty of other original ways to share your pictures. The EyeEm app lets you post photos so that they can be sold. Picfair also displays your pictures to potential buyers. The website even let you decide of the price for commercial, editorial and marketing/promotional use.

Like I did during the long period of confinement, I invite you to explore the limitless world of photography, an art that promises liberation and emancipation. Stay true to yourself and express your colors to the world!

- Livier Lefrank

how to
1

About the Creator

Livier Lefrank

Passionate screenwriter and Art lover.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.