Photography logo

Humans Are Like Typewriters

Words are everything

By Yesenia Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

It’s true when most people say “words cut deep.” Words do cut deep, even when someone doesn’t mean to it accidentally slips. There is so much meaning behind this picture. For starters I wish I can own a type writer. More than anything I wish I can live in the times when technology wasn’t known. Back to the image, a typewriter is nothing like a laptop or iPhone that you can just press the backspace button. You would need to start all over because if you don’t then that word that you didn’t mean to say or just screw up on would be there. That’s why when typing in a typewriter you have to be very cautious, taking your time is important. These days people don’t write letters to people as much as they did decades ago, they would even get a pigeon to send a letter to someone. I myslef still write letters to important people in my life by hand. I believe a hand written letter is everything to someone, if someone would write me a letter by hand I would be smiling so much my cheeks would start to ache. Once I laid eyes on this typewriter at the Last Book Store, I knew this was the subject I wanted to capture. I myslef love to write! Writing how I feel, about my day, or anything random makes me feel so good about myself because I can be me without anyone having to judge me. I’m my own author and I’m in charge of what I want to say at that moment. I used my iPhone XR, no flash needed. The lighting was perfect, the picture came out exactly how I wanted it to come out. Not too bright or too dull, gave it a vintage look. A look that touched my whole soul. The typewriter reminds me of my own self and what I want to become. Someone who can tell endless stories, stories that would touch others in a way that makes them cry of happiness or laugh until they pee themselves. When it comes to pictures I don’t like to use any filters or even edit the picture in any way. Why? Well because it takes away its original form. I wanted my object to be itself not a thing that it is not. The more real it is the better it is. For example you are on a dating app and you match with an Angel. They are perfect, white pearly teeth, curly hair, and very tall. According to the picture of course. Then when you meet them in person you are disappointed. Bummer right? It would be terrific if a dating app or any social media app wouldn’t allow you to post a picture with a filter on because like that you won’t be fooling anyone. People should feel happy the way they look. This typewriter doesn’t decide on its own how to appear to others or pleased itself. A human designed it and choosed it’s colors, size, length, and it’s weight. Through this picture you see more than a typewriter. I see the whole picture, it’s colors, pages, and words. This typewriter had a life. A life that was taken away, now it lives on a corner for people to see not to just pass through it but to noticed it. That writing is a beautiful thing, you don’t know when would be your last days when words are taken away from your mouth. Paper is what we have still. We should all use it to write amazing things. If not then your voice won’t be heard. I want my voice to be heard, the tone I used that’ll get people wanting more of future books I am capable of writing. More than anything being real is important just like this picture of a typewriter, used as a display.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.