Photography logo

Here Birdy Birdy

Luring animals in my yard one bird seed bag at a time.

By Vanessa R. PowellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4

In my previous article:

I talked about my squirrel friends. Here we look at my bird friends!

This was recorded with my iPhone tucked away between a tree branch...notice the epic fail at the end as it falls (thankfully into a soft pot of soil LOL).

The little birdie featured in the video is a Tufted Titmouse. They have the most interesting sounds that I'm not even sure how I would describe it! Not only is it not the best video, most of the video the bird is out of view. I was so excited for the brief capture I had I still kept it. Celebrate those victories no matter how small!

This Robin was searching for seed

Robin's are REALLLLLY common where I am located (in the Midwest, good ole southern Indiana).

Rubbing its beak on the Iron

Out of context, it looks like a photo "dud". However, this little cutie was rubbing its beak back and forth on the iron. I wish I had a video of it because I was like "WHAT IS IT DOING?!" haha.

We also have a lot of Cardinals in our state. I once read somewhere that if a male cardinal see's another male cardinal they will chase/fight each other.

I once had 10 male cardinals and 8 female cardinals in my yard AT THE SAME TIME. Now, I did see a few try and scare off another, but it didn't last long. I am pretty sure it was spring which I believe is also mating season. I feel like most people know this fun fact, but if not: Male Cardinals have the bright red feathers. While the Female Cardinals have a more reddish brown tone to them.

Male Cardinal Staring At Me
Male Cardinal Chillin'
Female Cardinal sitting on her eggs

I discovered a cardinals nest in the rose bush that lines my neighbors driveway with mine. I could hear the cardinal's chirp, it's very distinctive.

Above is a link I found with Cardinal sounds if you are interested.

Anyway, it was driving me crazy that I couldn't figure out where the sounds where coming from. I also almost got hit with the bird as one of them flew from the bushes out of the nest.

I quickly discovered that anytime I would enter/exit my vehicle (I always stop right at the rose bush), one of them would fly out of the nest. They do not like to be disturbed. If they feel the nest is in danger they will fly away. I think after awhile they just got used to me. I was pretty far away when I took this photo. I used my Canon 6D 70-200mm f/2. 8 II lens and zoomed all the way in.

Have you ever had a giant invasion of Starlings? My oh my, are they LOUD! They are super invasive, scare off other birds, and they are loud, so so LOUD! I also think they look pretty evil LOL

I mean....look at those eyes!

Ok Ok, I know I said this article was about birds. But I have this really cool photo of this bee. I had just gotten my 100mm lens and followed this bee around until I was able to get a clean shot.

Oh, oh! Let's not forget about my little mouse friend! Ok well, this one really isn't my friend. I don't like mice, they're cute, but their tails freak me out! This timid little thing was scurrying around take seed by seed and running back off into the weeds. I had to hold my breath in order to get this shot! I mean, not really, but the saying "Quiet As A Mouse" definitely came into play here!

Want to see more of my work?

I can be found on my Website, Facebook, Instagram, Creatively, and Buy Me a Coffee

Did you enjoy this post? Give it a heart, a share, or if you’re feeling extra --> tips are always appreciated too 🥳

art
4

About the Creator

Vanessa R. Powell

I am a portrait photographer, graphic designer, creator extraordinaire, oh and I sell Scentsy. I suppose I am dabbling in writing too 😊 | Based in Evansville, IN | I am 721vanessa Photography | www.721vanessa.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.