Photography logo

Greensboro, NC

The city full of creativity

By Yazmine ReavesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Colorful Parking Garage

The Colorful Parking Garage

Greensboro. My home. My town.

I was born in Burlington, NC just a little ways away from Greensboro. I’ve had family to stay near Greensboro and it has always been like a second home to me. From mall visits, Celebration Station, and to Wet N Wild! Greensboro made my childhood AMAZING! This was where some of my most significant memories lie.

Home is where the heart is.

For me, Greensboro has been a safe haven for me. It is where I have found community, love, and support. I chose this piece because of its abstractness and all of what I placed within it. Greensboro is a city full of creatives and a substantial amount of creative designs, murals, and all kinds of art. Being able to be apart of a community and city where you are able to create freely is so valuable and important to me because it gives a voice to people who may not otherwise have one and does so in such a beautiful and unique way. The multiple pictures that I have included are all pictures from this amazing city.

One of the items included in my composite image is a necklace. It’s hanging on the left side of the image. This necklace has hanging from it the ashes from my recently deceased grandfather. UNCG was where I decided to go because of him. We joked about how if I moved away to Charlotte he wouldn’t be able to bring me money and things like that, so I definitely decided to stay close. He would tell me all about his trips on the road driving tractor trailers. Every single time he would come to visit or take me out he would tell his stories about driving through Greensboro. He made sure to mention every single road we passed that was no longer the same, every single coins in and family member whose homes we passed on the way to our destination, and he also made sure to let me know the routes of the roads and made sure I paid attention to where we were going just in case I would have to drive these same roads.

I miss those times.

A piece of him is always with me, and I know he would be proud of the woman I am today, and I know if I had to move anywhere, Greensboro is most definitely the place he would have for me to be.

As mentioned before, I was born in Burlington, NC so just a hop and a skip down the road. When I graduated from my high school I did not anticipate that I would be where I am today. I am a recent graduate of the University of North Carolina where I studied Human Development and Family Studies and minored in both photography and African American studies. I was apart of a gospel choir where I made some of the first closest relationships I’ve had thus far in my life. I was able to find an amazing church where I have such an amazing church family and even more amazing pastor. I have made not just friends, but family. The people I have met have honestly helped me grow into the person that is typing to you today.

Greensboro is where I formed lifelong bonds with people I would have never met otherwise. This city is now my home where I am inspired daily. From the sides of buildings and the inside of parking garages, art is splattered endlessly, and I love it. Being in Greensboro sparks my creativity in a way I didn’t know that it could be sparked. So many stories, so many different journeys, and all so inspirational.

The city full of creatives that create unique. beautiful, and powerful works of art. The city that gives space and voice to creativity. This city is like my photo. Full of life, colorful, and all over the place but comes together to create something so amazing and unique.

art
Like

About the Creator

Yazmine Reaves

Multifacited Creator

Photographer

Artist

Vlogger & Blogger

Romans 12:6

✨ created to create ✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.