Photography logo

Francesca Andre - Award Winning Filmmaker & Published Photographer

Telling stories that represent culture and experience.

By Tammy ReesePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2
Francesca Andre Filmmaker/Photographer/Publicist (photo credit: Alison Domzalski)

Award-winning filmmaker and photographer Francesca Andre is known for creating rich and opulent work, tackling the complexities of life. Through a beautiful lens she invites you to a world of color, full of passion and triumph. In 2018, Francesca Andre made the 40 Under 40 list of high achievers by Connecticut Magazine.

Published in the New York Post, Daily Mail, Ebony Magazine, Essence, Forbes and more gaining notoriety and respect for her hard work and various creative talents. Francesca Andre is co founder , creative director and producer at Optik 21 , a photo and video company.

Charcoal is her award winning film which has been screened at numerous US and International Film Festivals.

As a vocal media independent journalist and a multimedia creative artist it was an complete honor to interview such an talented, and inspirational woman such as Francesca Andre. As media professionals on any level we need to be the change we want to see which includes showcasing black excellence. Celebrating our people is one of my life purposes . We all can win. I am so pleased to had connected with Francesca .

Please enjoy our interview.

Tammy Reese

Where were you born and raised?

Francesca Andre:

I was born and raised in Port-au-Prince Haiti and I came to the US when I was 15 years old.

Tammy Reese:

What and who inspired you to get into the media & film industry?

Francesca Andre:

I have always been fascinated with storytelling especially being raised by my grandmother who was an excellent storyteller. I think one of the reasons I got into film was due to the lack of diversity and representation in film and media. As a Haitian woman/immigrant, I haven't seen my culture represented in the media and the film industry and I came from a very rich culture. My intention as long as I am able is to tell stories by making films that celebrate/reflect my culture and experience.

Tammy Reese:

If you had to choose what is your favorite between PR, photography, and filmmaking what would you choose and why?

Francesca Andre:

I started doing PR and booking/management first, then I stopped when I decided to pursue photography. Photography led me to film and now I am doing all 3. I like all of them and each field has played a role in my professional development so it's a little hard to choose but I guess it depends on what I am working on and where I am in my life but all 3 fields require creativity and strong storytelling .

Tammy Reese:

Why is it important for black female filmmakers to break through during a movement for black lives?

Francesca Andre:

It's for us as black female filmmakers and creators to take our space in this current socio political, cultural and global discourse. As we continue to fight for Justice, equity and equality by centering black voices, it's also imperative to highlight and center black women filmmakers and creators. Who tells our stories is also shaping our history and the future and that is why black female storytellers need to be uplifted and supported especially having been excluded and marginalized for so long in the media and film industry.

Tammy Reese:

What were some obstacles you have overcome during your career which resulted in victory?

Francesca Andre:

That's a very good question. I believe that I have learned from past mistakes and obstacles so that in itself is a win as a result I am more level headed. It's not only obstacles in the creative field that have shaped me in who I am today but also lots of challenges in my personal life. I am open to learn and put these lessons into use if possible.

Tammy Reese:

Describe what it felt like seeing your first film complete and seeing your photography published for the first time?

Francesca Andre:

It felt great! I felt seen and heard and also a confirmation that stories that come from different parts of the world especially from the African diaspora should and need to be told.

Tammy Reese:

Congratulations on the many film festival selections! How has the film festival circuit been like?

Francesca Andre:

Very receptive and also a great opportunity to continue the conversation on colorism and women in film.

Tammy Reese:

Has the pandemic changed or redefined your creative processes? How?

Francesca Andre:

In a way yes, I believe it did. I was able to write more and take care of myself more especially in February and March.

Tammy Reese:

What is next for Francesca Andre?

Francesca Andre:

Everything delicious that life has to offer. I am not making plans besides the plans that involve my son. God has a way of..... I can't finish what I want to say. I am still on the God part... It's complicated.

Tammy Reese:

Anyone you would like to thank who has been a huge support in your career or personal life so far?

Francesca Andre:

My mother, my husband, my son and so many great people that God has placed in my life especially dealing with personal hardships.

Tammy Reese:

What is some advice you would give to anyone who wants to become a publicist, filmmaker or photographer?

Francesca Andre:

Follow your heart/bliss. Do the work! Failures are a part of life.. take a break, come back to it, let go, don't let go. Do whatever you need to for you but remain objective and passionate.

Francesca Andre can be reached by email at [email protected]

interview
2

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.