Photography logo

Enjoy Your Life

Yosemite, CA

By Sara RandallPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

The story of how I got to this waterfall is a long one. So here it goes.

I grew up in a small town outside of Rochester, New York. Like any young person in their teens, I hated my small town and dreamt of escaping to a land far far away. California has always been my favorite state, and I dreamt of running away one day. On a cold December day, I was in the parking lot of my part time job making subs, filled with thoughts of my toxic boyfriend of the time, and how I just wasn’t satisfied with my life. I wasn’t happy and I wanted more. In that very moment, I decided it was time for a change. I set a date 6 months out and started telling everyone I was moving to California. People that I didn’t even know. Suddenly there was purpose, I was excited again.

I moved to San Diego and worked in a hotel full time, cashiered at a store part time and walked dogs when I was available to make extra cash. I was for sure making the money but I was only living for the weekends. Exploring Southern California was amazing but for some reason I still felt like I wanted more. I was unsure of my future and it made me depressed. I took a step back and realized what made me happy. Seeing new places. Experiencing new things. I wanted to be on the move, that’s what I was most happy doing. After 10 months of living in San Diego, and I packed everything up and moved to Yosemite National Park.

Living in a National Park has been a surreal experience. I wake up under thousand foot granite walls, to the blissful sound of the Merced River, and gaze up at Half Dome and Yosemite Falls in all of their glory.

Because I do everything alone, getting a nice photo of me on a hike or adventure can be tough, and because I live in a National Park, there is never a shortage of cool things to do. One morning I woke up and decided I was going to hike to the top of Vernal Fall. I grabbed my hiking pack, some snacks, and most importantly, my camera and tripod. Once I got mostly up the gorge, I found my perfect photo location. I pull out my Canon and tripod, and quickly realize I forgot the little piece that screws on the bottom of the camera so you can attach it to the tripod. Sweaty, annoyed, and frustrated, I couldn’t let this perfect photo opportunity pass. I didn’t want to balance my camera on a tripod, knowing with my luck a gust of wind would come by and sweep my camera down the Merced River. I took my hair tie off my wrist, wrapped it around my phone, and strapped my phone to my tripod and set my phone camera to a 10 second timer. I ran back and forth from my phone to the spot I wanted to be photographed, over and over trying to get the best shot. I was going for a beautifully exposed and vibrant photo of me on the ledge, which I ended up getting many of them... but there was something about the one where I am just a silhouette. It looks like a painting. It makes the scenery come alive and I enjoy how it draws the attention to me, yet subtly. It provides depth.

It’s the pictures like this that make me stop and look at the beautiful life I have created for myself. The special moments I get to live because I decided to do life differently.

Flash forward, to today, I have now lived in California for a year and a half now and it has truly been the best year and a half of my entire life. California opened my eyes to a new kind of life style, one that does not involve material items, fame, wealth, status. But a life that embodies what it means to be free. Free of all things holding you back from seeing the world. Staying in one place long term is my worst nightmare. I am drawn to new places like a magnet, I feel compelled to travel and I feel pulled to the unknown.

I live in Yosemite National Park and my plans for 2020 are to live in the Hawaiian islands, Alaskan Mountains, and solo backpack Europe. I will never stop exploring.

And that’s the story, of how a small town girl with big dreams, turned her life into a work of art.

camera
1

About the Creator

Sara Randall

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.