Photography logo

Dormont Castle Playground (DORMONT PARK)

DORMONT Trail Pittsburgh Neighbor

By johnnyPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Dormont Park Castle Playground

Hello everyone! I want to share to you some comments from my Facebook friends upon posting my experiences and reaction about Dormont Park Castle Playground.

Here are some of the comments that I was asking of their experience (Sheila) "Mine go back to the 50’s, way before this playground. We would sometimes spend all day in the park, building forts and tying each other to trees! We also spent much of every summer at the pool. Great memories! , The Easter egg hunts in the 60s were always fun, I remember helping to build that park. I was sorry to see the old park from my childhood go but it had seen better days. I would imagine this wood is getting pretty ragged now and will probably be replaced, I remember moving here in 90 then the park came soon after. Me & my friends would go play tag on it all the time. The cops would yell at us since we were older. But hell it was a good park. Lol. My buddy lived right across the street so it was convenient ,I would love Dormont Day as a kid. They would give out glasses of buttermilk that we would bring to our friend’s aunt to make chocolate cake. Lol it was always a fun day! The fourth of July celebrations were the best. The bangs waking us up. Going to the races in the morning. The fun things during the day. Buttermilk stand, hotdogs, pony rides, dancing at the pavilion. The tickets for the cars to win. Best of all were all the family coming over for the day . Cooking out and watching the great fireworks with them all".

I agree to the comments they wrote because I myself experience the same thing and how this place amazed me. Now, here's my wonderful experienced in Dormont Park Castle Playground. To what planet you came from, one thing I could say is, having a park or a borough in our country is a great thing for us. Here, we can relax especially if we are very tired from work. You can do walking with your dog or having a music while doing it. It is more enjoyable if you walk with you your husband or wife, boyfriend or girlfriend, and of course with your kids if you have. Kids could have a lot of enjoyable things to do here and I am very sure they would. I am one of the luckiest person who lived near Dormont Park Castle Playground. I just walked 12 minutes from our home going here and I can see how beautiful this place is. I said, it's like I am in a paradise. If you walked in the area of Dwight Ave., the castle will surprisingly welcome you. It has a beautiful designs and made of woods. You will be amazed and wonder how this castle was beautifully made. And I said, if this castle was made of bricks or sand, maybe tourists from other countries will come here. In my whole life and living here for 5 years, I could say that this is the most beautiful playground for children and for adults also. You can play tennis here and can slide also. During winter, I was so amazed of the beauty of this castle. You can see it white so it's like white castle. Maybe you can do skiing also from the top of the wooden castle because it is hilly. And if the snow is thick, I am sure kids will come here and will be enjoy. Because of the season, it turns the castle more beautiful. Of course it is my chance to take photo, so I did. I had search from google about Dormont Park Castle Playground. It give me knowledge that this playground was built on 1920 and was made of wood. It is already old but you cannot notice its aged because it is still beautiful and is taking cared. You can see it in a picture.

If you are planning to go here, expect that it has slides(tunnel slides), structures to climb, tires for obstacles and bridges. It also have tennis area, Badminton, baseball field and walking trail. But wait there's more! Here in Dormont Park Castle Playground, it has picnic pavilions. Picnic is allowed. You can do cooking especially during summer. If you have a car, no worries because there's a parking area here and it is free. You can relax, focus and enjoy without worrying it.

With regards to the restroom, they have it here. Clean and complete. It has for men and women. They also have garbage box for trashes and if you have dog, there is a plastic bag for the poop. If you are new here, don't worry, 94% of the people here are responsible based on my own experience. It was a great experience indeed.

art
Like

About the Creator

johnny

I am new here, I will do my best to share everything I know specially about hotels, streets like travel because I love travel a lot.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.