Photography logo

Do I Really Need to Become an Expert in Lightroom?

Yes, I really need to…especially since I’m shooting in RAW

By Diana LottiPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Do I Really Need to Become an Expert in Lightroom?
Photo by Tiard Schulz on Unsplash

As the years have gone by, I initially thought there was a constant battle between the two hemispheres of my brain. I remembered while growing up, the right side of my brain was the predominant force since my creativity always took priority. I involved myself in all things creative, including theatre, music, and crafts. Later on, during my university years, the left side of my brain began to force my creative side, well…to the side. According to research, the left side of the brain is analytical, logical, and detail or fact-oriented.

I always thought that the brain had a dominant side, and it is the reason why people pick careers that would fit their dominant side of the brain. Those with a dominant right side had creative jobs, such as writing or photography. In turn, those with a dominant left side gravitated toward jobs in engineering, law, or anything math-related. But, what if I told you that’s not the case? That the two sides of the brain actually collaborate and communicate with each other? The dominant brain theory is outdated.

Learning this information changed my mindset towards learning photography. When my significant other gifted me with my first DSLR camera, I realized that the process is creative and technical. I needed both sides of my brain to work together. Learning the technical side of the camera itself didn’t take too long. Once done, it allowed me to set free my creative side every time I went out to shoot with my camera. However, I need to become an expert in editing those RAW files.

Now the question becomes, do I really need to become an expert in Lightroom? It will take a while, but yes, I believe I do.

What is Lightroom?

Adobe Lightroom is a software developed by Adobe Inc. to import, view, organize, and edit photographs. According to its FAQs, users can use it on a desktop, mobile, and web apps, and it automatically backs up all photos into the cloud (not to be confused with Lightroom Classic).

Since I wish to have access to all my photos, whether at home with my computer or my phone when on the go, then yes, I really need Lightroom. As an extension, I need to learn how to use it and maybe even become an expert in it.

I remembered a rookie mistake I made at the beginning of my photography journey. I formatted my SD card without properly saving my photos first. I lost them all. I was devastated and I didn’t want it to happen again.

Lightroom allows me to manage, store, and find (thanks to the tag) my photos. I also like to shoot in RAW mode, a format that captures all image data, so it creates higher-quality photos while being able to correct any issues within the image. However, getting Lightroom and using Lightroom are two different monsters.

By Jye B on Unsplash

Why do I want to become an expert?

I admit that learning Lightroom has been slow, but I wish to become an expert in the software to enhance my photos. I’m lucky I get to live in a country that allows countless options for nature and landscape photography. However, many times I get frustrated when a certain image doesn’t look the way I want it to look. There’s only so much the camera, the lens, and the photographer can do. At some point, only the editing process will provide the results I see in my mind’s eye to take the photo to the next level.

How does one become an expert?

There are a few options I have been trying, including trial and error, online or guided tutorials, and YouTube channels.

I find trial and error the hardest way of learning, especially since I am a perfectionist. I get frustrated rather quickly and then, I start to lose interest when things don’t go my way. I don’t want this to happen.

The online and guided tutorials within Lightroom have helped, but only when there’s a specific issue I want to address in the photo. For example, let’s say I want to enhance a foggy photo.

I simply click on the learn lightbulb, browse by learning topic, tools, or subject matter. Then, I learn by doing.

However, there are times when I don’t know what I need to search for to create a certain effect. Sometimes I don’t know whether editing by light, color, or effects will create the effect I want. Other times, I get lazy and use presets. I find nothing wrong with using presets. They are easy to use, and I can tweak my photos from there. The downside is that presets cost money, so there’s that. Lastly, there are YouTube tutorial videos (oh so many of them).

There are some YouTubers out there who know what they’re doing but don’t know how to teach or explain. Then, there is Peter McKinnon with his amazing two-minute tutorials.

I often ask myself if these learning options will help me become an expert in Lightroom. Maybe. Maybe not. What I do know is that I need to persevere, maintain motivation, and be patient with the learning process. I need to keep an open mind and use all available, and especially free, resources I can find. At the end of the road, I’ll be able to turn the vision I have for my photos into a reality, which will be the sweetest achievement.

The original story appeared on Medium.

editing
1

About the Creator

Diana Lotti

Traveler. Photographer. Storyteller. MBA. Writing about first-hand experiences involving travel, photography, and self-development. Twitter: @DianaILotti and IG: @dlottiphotography

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.