Photography logo

Children's Photography

It's Tougher Than It Looks

By Ashleigh HolmesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

Photography is an outlet that enables me to express myself. A major obstacle in allowing me to be creative stands less than a one-meter tall and loves to wear just a nappy around the house when it’s hot. I am talking about my almost three-year old daughter who is my ‘model’ when it comes to practicing my photography. For anyone who wants to get started in Children’s Photography enter at your own risk as things never go to plan.

Deciding on locations for mini photo-shoots is usually spur of the moment, but should be extremely toddler friendly as they love to move, walk around, pick stuff up and point at random stuff. We have tried an autumn feel under a massive, big tree that had crunchy, brittle leaves. Using my tripod and sometimes just the camera in my hand, I got her to stand in one spot (tough going for a nearly two-year old at the time and through some leaves in the air to see her reaction. I think total time we were there was like an hour and there was only a handful of good ones that weren’t blurry. To edit these ones, I used Vignette and cropping to attempt to focus in on her. Keep in mind I am only an amateur so I continue to learn.

Darcy in the Park

Our next mini shoot was at Mt Cootha Lookout in Queensland, this time I did not take my tripod as there was some climbing to do and it was busy at the time we went. As you can see by the collage, she wouldn't stand still which means using multiple clicks after one another to get her actions. I am learning that this is the better way to photograph children to get that split second shot, that makes the time worth it.

Darcy and Bluey Just Hanging

More quick shots of Darcy one after the other

I love using black and white photography and use it on and off to switch it up. I took a few photos of my girl looking out over the railing and holding onto the binoculars, and in the end there again was a few good ones I could edit.

Darcy and Bluey at Mt Cootha Lookout - Taken in Black and White (Before Editing)

Darcy and Bluey - Cropped and Edited

I love this photo cropped and edited, it's these moments that I will cherish no matter how much she wont't sit still.

editing
3

About the Creator

Ashleigh Holmes

Married mother of an adorable little girl who keeps me on my toes. I love art, craft, photography and food. I love to write about parenting and the trials I have struggled with, and also photography as an outlet for lifelong anxiety.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.