Photography logo

Can selfies look like a professional photo-shoot? Amazingly, yes.

Little encouragement

By Elena Stoyanova KalchevaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I know what you think. Selfies are amateurs’ way of showing off where you’ve been, how did you feel. Not with Photoshop and 10 seconds delay on your camera. You can really achieve professional-quality using a quite simple technique.

First comes the original picture, of course. Something in the facial expression, something peculiar, interesting, engaging is the key. And then I go to Photoshop. For my selfies I find it very useful to rely on FaceApp, it removes every trace of fatigue or the signs of me approaching forty. I process the photo and since I am getting only a headshot, in Photoshop I apply the filtered head on the body. Then I choose a charming background and voila. I look like a model. All you need is a white wall, a stable base for your camera and many different outfits. Trust me, the posing comes naturally, once you get used to the camera and you browse the net for ideas.

It is a joyful process. Experimenting with light, different backgrounds, the contact with the camera, and then the final result is always satisfying, because you are in control, seeing how you look like 100 per cent of the time, not relying on studies expressions and poses that sometimes disappoint.

The beauty isn’t all. You can still make a captivating selfie no matter of your looks. If you use Face-App it will delete all your peculiar features so I do not recommend at for every occasion, only if you are annoyed by an eye-bag or two. The work with the backgrounds will take time to master. The tools and the skills to use it you can learn from every online Photoshop tutorial, selection cut, paste, layers, etc.

I like taking selfies (might have a disorder of some kind). A selfie with a yellow dress. A selfie with a purple top. A sad selfie. Smiling selfie. Listening to music. Cooking. Endless possibilities. I like the control I have over my pose and expression compared to a professional shoot which I’ve briefly practiced. Another perk: you can do it from the comfort of your own house when you have space and time for yourself. Then every piece of furniture becomes a mighty ally that adds character to the picture. Explore these options, but do not forget, the white wall is your best friend, you can add any background with Photoshop.

For catchy selfies, there is no need for a glamorous wardrobe. Everyday clothes can be as unusual and interesting as high-fashion, accessorized appropriately, or with an accent on a bright color, beautiful feature and proper attitude of the model. And here is the great question: what do I make these selfies for?

To start with the obvious: fascinating Instagram account, but you can also use them for profile pictures on Facebook or simply share them with your friends and see their amazement. I know Photoshop sounds daunting, but the technique of cutting yourself from the white wall is a piece of cake and the results will not only delight your friends but help you with your self-esteem. Who would not enjoy professional-looking shots? Last thing: be careful with sharing your photos. Once sent, the recipient has all the power. So if you do not want to be embarrassed, do not share anything that might embarrass you provided that it is also a piece of cake for more revealing pictures to go viral. With, that being said, feel free to try my technique, and I promise you, it is addictive. But like chocolate and some other not so innocent pleasures, what isn’t.

how to
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.