Photography logo

Bright Fames of a Tempe

By GIJk

By gijkPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Final

Choosing just one picture was a very hard choice as I have an emotional attachment to most of my pictures. However, I decided to choose the picture that I was motivated to take the most. The picture that required constant effort and required a lot of editing . But all of my efforts were not done in vain as I ended up loving the picturesque of the final picture. I chose a photo that I hope will allow people to experience the magic I felt when looking at the aesthetics of the temple when I shoot the picture.

I’ve always wanted to travel to Asia however couldn’t afford it so I was able to apply it to my studies and go as part of an internship, conscious that if I were given an opportunity to travel , I would seize it anticipating that I could experience the beauty of a country and also gain some supplementary benefit .

I was fortunate enough to get into an internship in Asia and it was all at last minute. So, I decided to buy a second-hand iPhone and a DJI mobile gimble and set off to my trip. I had always been a huge fan of moment photography accessories and looking at the picture I chose , I come to realize the drastic difference the shot could have had if my iPhone 8 camera had wide angle lenses or if it had a UV filter or a ND filter . I could already begin to imagine all the enhancements that a moment photography kit would make to all the details in the picture. However, knowing I didn’t possess one I failed to discourage myself and decided to rely on editing. (I’ve inserted a few pictures of my editing process). Although editing can’t make my picture as high quality as lenses placed on a camera , before taking the picture I was able to change minor details and make my picture replicate what I imagined a moment lenses would make it look like as much as possible . After observing people taking photo’s with lenses and learning the difference in moment lenses, while applying similar changes using editing apps this is the outcome of the picture I shoot.

To take the picture I made sure to Set my iPhone plus 8 cameras to Live and HDR I put the timer off, so it was on a natural no filter setting and no flash. As seen in (picture1)

Original picture

To take the picture I had about 10 seconds every day on the way to work as my shuttle bus that would take me to work would drive past the temple, it was situated on a main junction that proceeded on into a highway , so it was really quick and busy. I would focus on the temple and lower my brightness as fast as possible and start shooting as many shots as possible as quick as possible then I’d go home and review them. I constantly continued this routine for a month. The bus journey was a one to two-hour journey from my workplace to the main city and my motivation to take this shot would keep me awake. Many times, the pictures would come out blurry due to the speed. But I was finally able to capture a stabilized picture although its clearly visible from the trees that the picture was captured on the move. The final photo I chose also displays my favourite angle.

To edit the picture, I had use various of apps and software’s to colour grade the picture . Sadly, the quality would drop each time but knowing the backstory behind the piece of photography I still held love for it.

Then I used Snapseed to focus on specific colours and get rid of what I personally call the dust of editing As shown in( picture 2)

I decided not to overall sharpen the whole picture as I didn’t want to sharpen the noise.

Then I added a final filter that made the biggest change to the picture. It made it almost seem as tho the picture is fake however I know that that’s what would play a flame like effect and make the reds and orange and yellows stand out. (Fist picture submitted)

The temple was surrounded by many trees and the bridge the bus would cross was above the middle of the temple, so I was able to get a shot of very distinctive angle. I attempted other angles as seen in the attempt pictures however, this was my final favourite angle. (picture 3).

Attempts on the bus.

I believe many people take pictures that turn out blurry or the colours don’t satisfy them and disregard the beauty within the picture that can be enhanced in various different ways. This picture to me was a challenge. A challenge to make something I found beautiful look beautiful to even more people. And this is why I overall love this picture.

I hope you also conceive the beauty I see in this picture.

By Tungteya Gijk

editing
1

About the Creator

gijk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.