Photography logo

Believing These 6 Myths About Photography Keeps You From Growing.

Stop these myths from slowing down your progress in photography.

By David BurrowsPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Photograph by David Burrows

There is a lot of contradictory information available when you first start a journey like photography. Your head is going to blow up from all of this. Unfortunately, some false information is quite simple to believe, which is a serious concern because doing so might significantly slow down your path. I’m telling you this because, like most others, when I first began, I also found it easy to fall into these traps.

Myth 1: You need a lot of expensive equipment to take good photographs.

If I owned the best football that has ever been made, would that mean I could suddenly play competitive football? Or if I owned the best fishing rod, would I be able to start catching fish like the professionals? Would I use a Ferrari if I wanted to learn to drive a car? I am sure you would agree with me that the answer to these questions is no, and I am also sure you would agree that you would start at the bottom and develop your skills with starter equipment. Photography is the same. You will be a much better photographer if you start at the bottom with entry-level equipment and work your way up to more expensive equipment as your skills develop.

Yes, it is true that a more expensive camera will have more megapixels or a bigger sensor, but these cameras are set up for people that are at that stage in their lives and have learned their trade and skills, which means they know the fundamentals of taking a good photograph. A camera is just a tool. It is the photographer that takes the photograph. Unfortunately, if you have not yet learned to take a good photograph on an entry-level camera, then buying a more expensive camera will not help you. It will only frustrate you and make you want to quit.

Myth 2: You need to know how to use Photoshop to take good photographs.

Photoshop is a great tool for the accomplished photographer to use, as there are many adjustments for freedom of expression. You can make fantastic edits with this software. For the beginner, this is just not necessary as Photoshop is a very complex piece of software and you are much better off learning your camera first. Learn how it works properly and the basic skills of photography, like composition and how light works first. Trying to learn Photoshop at the same time would become a big distraction. Photoshop is designed to make a good photograph better, not to make a bad photograph good, so before you embark on Photoshop, learn to take a good photograph.

Myth 3: You need a perfect location and the right lighting for your photographs.

When you begin your photography journey, how do you know what the perfect location is? That is why it is best to make the most out of any situation. The important thing is that you are taking photographs and experimenting with different situations. This will ultimately give you many more skills as a photographer. When it comes to location, try different angles and different scenarios; take shots from above and below until you find what works in that particular location. When we talk about light, I can tell you there is no such thing as bad light. Yes, it is true that golden hour is a nice time to take photographs, but too many shots of sunrises and sunsets, in my opinion, can become a little boring. You are also limiting the time you have to practise and perfect your skills. Learn what sorts of photographs work best at different times of the day and in different months. Remember, you are trying to learn what sort of photographer you are. Break free from this myth by going out and taking photographs whenever you can.

Myth 4: Photography is just about taking pictures.

If photography was just about taking pictures, there would not be good and bad photographers; we would all just be running around taking photographs. For example, I remember when I first got a camera and I said to myself, “If I go and take 100 photographs, I am bound to get a few good ones.” So, armed with my new camera, I went out and took as many pictures as I could. I mean, I photographed everything. Then I got home to see what I had, and to my disappointment, I had nothing that compared to some of the great photographs I had seen online. Why was that, I asked myself? The answer did not show itself until I started learning about photography, and the more I learned, the clearer it became and the more I understood why I had taken so many photos and did not get a single great photograph. It is because there is much more to photography than just aiming a camera at an object and just pressing a button. There is a lot to consider, like the lighting conditions, composition, framing, and having respect for what you are choosing to photograph in order to get the right angle. That said, if all you want to do with a camera is point and shoot holiday snaps, then there is nothing wrong with that, but if you want to be a photographer and get breathtaking images, then my advice would be to start from the bottom and learn this discipline properly. Remember, a skill that’s worth having is always difficult to achieve.

Myth 5: Photography is hard work, you can’t make money with photography.

Photography is hard work. You can’t make money with photography. Well, let us break this down and analyse it for a minute. Firstly, if you have learned your craft thoroughly enough to consider charging for your work, then photography at that point should be second nature to you, so it should be fairly easy. What is difficult, however, is promoting yourself as a photographer. Unfortunately, if people don’t know you exist, they will obviously not hire you no matter how good your work is. If you take two photographers and one is massively better than the other, but the photographer that is not as good is absolutely amazing at promoting him or herself and everybody has heard of their name, who do you think will get the most work and, therefore, will make the most money?

Myth 6: Photography is just a hobby, it’s not going to make me any money.

When you first decide to become a photographer, you will be excited about the potential for the craft to bring you income. Like everyone, you will often daydream about shooting weddings and headshots, capturing the beauty of your city and turning it into a business. But when you actually start trying to make a living as a photographer, you will be surprised by how hard it is. And you may also be a little disappointed.

As you become more serious about your craft, you will discover that photography is a lot of hard work. It requires a lot of planning, patience, and discipline. The hours are long, the pay can be low, and the competition is fierce. You will need to learn how to market yourself, how to develop a brand, and how to keep your career moving when the economy is tight. But if you have the drive and ambition, then yes, it is possible for you to make a good living in photography.

Conclusion

Break free from these or any other myths that are holding you back. Photography does not have to be expensive or done at only certain times of the day. It’s a form of free expression and well-being. It is true that making money from photography is hard, but so are most hobbies that people want to turn into money-making adventures. My advice is this: if you start a hobby like photography for the sole purpose of making money, all you are going to do is frustrate yourself and take away the enjoyment that you could be experiencing; but on the other hand, if you start as a hobby and let it evolve naturally, then you will have a much better journey.

how to
1

About the Creator

David Burrows

I am a freelance photographer and I also write blogs. I love to share my knowledge and passion for photography with others. I have been a photography blogger for the last year. I write about travel, people, nature, and photography advice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.