Photography logo

Behind closed doors

Because not all doors are meant to be opened.

By Billie WhytePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
4

Once I'd seen the Mobile Moments challenge and read the brief, I knew exactly what it was that I would capture. I picked up my iPhone, threw on my boots and made the 10-minute walk from my house to a street I've walked down hundreds of times since moving into the area in 2014.

It didn't take me too many attempts to get the photo I wanted, 4 or 5 at most and that was because I was trying to get a perfectly centred shot in high-speed winds (which was not an easy feat at all!). Once I was happy with the picture I'd taken, I made a couple of minor edits to the brightness and exposure and then added the iPhone filter 'dramatic' and that was it. I had the shot I wanted; the shot you're seeing.

The reason I was sure that this was what I wanted to capture was because of the magic it holds for me.

As I mentioned previously, I've lived in the same area for almost six years. I've walked the same routes daily for that length of time, part of which involves walking down a back alley that's littered with broken glass bottles, cigarette ends and trash. Between that, the abundance of oversized council issued bins, the grey and weather-worn exterior of the buildings and the highly fenced police station, it's a bit of an eyesore. It was like every other back alley except for this door.

I was walking back from the store with shopping bags in my hands when I noticed it. The wood was coloured with a burnt orange varnish and adorned with delicately carved patterns, and despite being at least two feet up the wall, no steps were available for entry.

I immediately asked myself if it had always been there and wondering how I'd missed it for so many years. I've always been an incredibly observant person, able to notice a spot of mud on the ankle of a passer-by or a subtle change in a persons body language. Not only that but I'd walked down this street more times than I can count so to have not noticed such a beautiful feature for so long, it baffled me.

I stared in awe for a few moments before deciding to continue my journey home, but something about it stuck with me. I wanted to know where it leads too, what was behind it? My imagination went wild.

I dreamt of all the different things that could be behind it all linked in with why I hadn't noticed for so long.

Perhaps I wasn't supposed to notice until that specific moment? Was it under a cloak until the door deemed the time was right, was it ready to share its secrets right at that moment?

Maybe it wasn't sharing secrets at all. Maybe it was a door to a parallel universe, one where I'm preparing to walk away whilst another version of me is on the other side, bold and brave enough to step right through it.

I was curious to see what it would conjure up in others too, so I shared the image with friends and family via social media and simply captioned it -

'Use your imagination, what's behind this door'

The responses were both incredible and hilarious (albeit a little naughty!).

One person said that it could lead to a real-life Narnia whilst another said it would lead to a room, with a small red chair and a plastic blue table with the perfect plate of spaghetti on it.

Another said that Zac Efron would be behind that door, in a towel, with pizza in one hand and a bottle of wine in the other (Cheeky!).

I think my personal favourite though, was from the person that suggested it could open up right into the epicentre of a carnival back in the 1920's.

It isn't just a door. The beauty of its design and the mystery combined, it's a door that encourages us to dream and imagine endless possibilities, in mere moments.

For me, as someone that has trouble accepting that I can't control every element of life, it's also an elegant reminder that the unknown can be a joyful and exciting thing and that I don't always need to know what's on the other side of life's metaphorical doors.

Two years on and I still have no idea what's behind it and at this point, I don't want to know.

With that being said -

If you use your imagination, what's do you think is behind this door?

art
4

About the Creator

Billie Whyte

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.