Photography logo

Beginner Photography

Dipping My Toes into Photography

By T.C. BosargePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2018
1
Mobile Bay Taken on IPhone 7 Plus 

Photography is not something I planned to do as a hobby. It fell right into my lap. It began when I had a friend begin playing rugby. She invited me to her games and after a while I began snapping photos with my phone and posting them on FB. Soon I pulled out my little Nikon handheld camera and started to bring them to games. The pictures were grainy and just plain old bad. However, I became known as someone who enjoyed taking pictures at the game.

The Beginning Stages

Months later, I started up a Tumblr of all the pictures I’d taken. Despite the camera, the quality was still pretty good. The team referred to me as the photographer. I began to think that maybe I should start taking this serious. Websites were visited, prices were checked, and all the good cameras were expensive as hell.

So as I searched for cameras, I continued bettering my pictures with what I had and it worked for a long time. People enjoyed the shots I was getting, but that only made me want to do better.

The Come Up

When I knew I would never be able to fork over $300 for a brand new camera, I got the idea to hit up some pawn shops. Thankfully, it didn’t take long for me to stumble on just what I needed. I visited a pawn shop on the first day of my search and they had a Canon Rebel XS for 100 some odd dollars. I was willing to spend at least $200 so it was in my price range. When I asked the guy if I could see it, he gladly took it out of the case. However, it wouldn’t turn on. Come to find out the battery was completely dead and they didn’t have a charger. The guy turned to his manager and let her know the dilemma and suddenly she was asking how much I’d give for it.

What!? I didn’t know what to do or what number to throw out. Surely wanting to get rid of the camera that probably didn’t even work, she asked if I would take it for $50.

Uh, hell yeah!

I walked out of the pawn shop 10 minutes later with a camera that probably didn’t even work, but it was a risk I was taking. In my mind, I knew it worked. I just needed a new battery.

Two hours and three stores later, I couldn’t find the battery ANYWHERE!! I was out of hope and almost out of gas. Thankfully, I remembered a local camera place and with a little hope lingering, I went there. They had the battery... for $60 and the charger for $40! I spent less on the damn camera, but I sucked it up and swiped my card. Afterwards, I hurried to my car and ripped the battery pack open, hoping and prayer that this camera turned on and I didn’t waste $150.

With a sigh of relief, it turned on and I drove home victorious, ready for the next rugby game.

Bigger and Better

I was very happy with my new camera for the first few games until I came across a few problems with the original lenses that came with the camera. It didn’t have a lot of zoom and lacked in quality areas. The pictures still looked great and the compliments were rolling in, but I knew I could do better.

Knowing that I wanted a new lens, my loving spouse purchased me a bigger $300 lens for Christmas.

I cried and haven’t looked back since.

Despite having my camera for almost two years, I still don’t know it as well as I should so it’s a work in progress to figure out all the settings. I love what I do. I love taking pictures and it’s become a hobby I want to keep doing for a long time.

Photography in general is something I love. When I don’t have my camera, my phone manages to get the job done as well.

Photography is life.

camera
1

About the Creator

T.C. Bosarge

I'm a 25 year old writer living in the Deep South. I stumble across vocal and decided to give it a try. I hope y’all enjoy the content I make.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.