Photography logo

Backyard Critters: Squirrel Edition

I'm a portrait photographer by trade but that doesn't stop me from photographing my backyard friends!

By Vanessa R. PowellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
8
Fred the Squirrel-friend

My favorite way to relax, is to sit in my kitchen chair, sip my coffee and watch my backyard friends munch away on their seeds. When I first lured a squirrel into my backyard, with an ear of corn, I was jumping for joy. For some reason these creatures have always fascinated me. I was determined to get as close as possible and hoped he (or she) would eat from the palm of my hand. We're still working on that part...

I noticed a set of three squirrels that started coming in my yard regularly. I should have named them Alvin, Simon and Theodore but I wasn't thinking at the time. One was really skinny, one was medium sized, and the other was a little chubby. That's the only reason why I was able to tell them apart.

Squirrels are so funny, from their wagging/smacking of their tail, incessant eating of seeds and nuts, and chasing one another around the yard or trees.

Who me?

"You talkin' 'bout me?"

I imagine this is what Fred would say to me as I continued on with my ramblings!

I think Fred wants to secretly be The Incredible Hulk. He posed his best Hulk Smash for me once.

Hulk Smash!

Occasionally I am able to bear witness to Fred's daily exercise. He enjoys aerobics, which involves hanging, balancing, and flying.

Practicing his balancing act

Here you can see he is practicing his balancing act.

Don't move a muscle!

Fred is about to practice jumping! Go Fred, Go!

"I CAN DO IT, I AM STRONG, I AM JUST A BIRD IN THE WIND" -Fred
He did it! He did it!

Here is he practicing his hanging act. Unfortunately, he dropped some seeds. Don't worry Fred, you'll get better with time!

Sometimes Fred likes to carry his food to the front yard... I don't mind much. I just follow him haha

I spoil my squirrel friends...enjoying some peanuts
Enjoying some corn

Sometimes Fred likes to fly.

Fly Fred Fly

Fred has always been a curious creature. He likes to explore my outside furniture.

Exploring the furniture
Searching for food

Mostly, I think he exploring for more food 🧐😅

After a long hard day, Fred is ready to relax and take it easy.

If you’re here for the nerdy photo deets… this part is for you! I photographed all of these images using my Canon 6D and probably all with my 70-200mm f/2.8 II. I get torn between using my 70-200 and my 100mm. I recently (FINALLLLY) purchased the Sigma Art 35mm and have fallen IN LOVE.

Most of the time I start as far away as possible, zooming all the way in and I slow zoom out as I walk closer. Sometimes I will come outside if I notice the squirrels from the window. Other times I will have my camera on hand and sit quiet as a mouse and wait patiently. I try not to disturb the animals and if they do see me, I want them to trust me and know that I am not there to harm them. In fact, I couldn't be more like, "LET'S BE FRIENDS!". Let me be your modern Snow White!

The closest I have ever been to Fred is holding my hand out and he sniffed my hand. He then quickly ran away. No idea why! I had a hand full of sunflower seeds ready for him. Oh well, one day Fred! One day!

All images in this article are taken by me: 721vanessa Photography

Want to see more of my work?

I can be found on my Website, Facebook, Instagram, Creatively, and Buy Me a Coffee

Did you enjoy this post? Give it a heart, a share, or if you’re feeling extra --> tips are always appreciated too 🥳 Have any tips/tricks that weren't mentioned? Email me I'd love to read them!

art
8

About the Creator

Vanessa R. Powell

I am a portrait photographer, graphic designer, creator extraordinaire, oh and I sell Scentsy. I suppose I am dabbling in writing too 😊 | Based in Evansville, IN | I am 721vanessa Photography | www.721vanessa.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.