Photography logo

Backyard Creatures

The animals I see from my front porch

By Rasma RaistersPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Sunbathing cat named Fluffkins

For many years my trusty digital camera a Pentax Optio W 60 waterproof has never failed me. In the early morning stepping out on my second-floor floor front porch I looked down into the yard and saw what looked like a cat met with an accident. Fluffkins was sunbathing and the sight of him in the morning sunlight made me smile and this was the result.

Other times the cats are chasing each other if they are not doing what they do most of the day which is to sleep. When the chasing begins it is best to keep out of their way because they can get very rambunctious. The oldest of the cats here is a black and white cat named Tux and he is very photogenic. In the one photo on my railing, he looks like he is posing for a centerfold and in the other, he is being territorial and lying by the bowl of milk I have given him to make sure no one else drinks his milk.

Tux has a daughter named Silky and even though I do not believe he thinks of her as his daughter she and he occasionally share a bowl of milk together which is a very delightful sight.

I put out bread or crackers for birds and squirrels that gather on my front porch railing, I was able to quietly capture this wonderful photo of a squirrel enjoying its breakfast and as you can see the squirrel is really enjoying its meal.

Another backyard creature I captured was a treefrog. After a heavy rain, he had gotten caught in a half-filled flowerpot languishing in the rainwater with no hope of getting out himself. When I gently tried to lift him out he gave a very large leap and landed on a palm tree branch and I grabbed my camera.

And sometimes these lovely and delightful creatures include an opossum that I named Harvey who comes by during the nighttime. It is not easy to catch a photo of an opossum but all it needs is patience. I put my camera on night vision and then I listen and when I hear some rattling and scrapping I carefully open up my door, Then I take aim with my camera and remain perfectly still and as you can see I have been successful in getting his photo.

So you see my world is full of backyard creatures and it is always fun to catch them doing what comes naturally, I often see one of the other cats around here come up to my porch and sleep on the table that I have there. While she is calmly enjoying her afternoon a squirrel come dashing along the palm branches, nimbly jumps onto the porch railing and before the car can even be aware that the squirrel is there it grabs a cracker and goes running off.

If Harvey the opossum happens to come at a time when one of the cats around here is one nighttime duty there is a bit of a fuss, They meet and neither Harvey nor the cat is too happy to have their nighttime routine disrupted, One time they even got into a heated argument and banged against my front doot but luckily no one got hurt and they just went their separate ways.

Whenever I step out on my front porch I am reminded of that song "Looking Out My Backdoor" by Creedence Clearwater Revival. I might not have mystical creatures here but I do have real and wonderful creatures of all kinds and it always makes me smile to see them.

art
3

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.