Photography logo

Backyard Beauties

The thrills of wildlife & nature photography closer to home

By Krishan MubasharPublished 10 days ago 5 min read
5
Grey Heron, Essen, Germany.

“The local wildlife allows us to develop a deeper understanding of the ecosystem that exists right outside our doors”

As so many others of my generation, especially after reading the adventures of Rüdiger Nehberg, I dreamed of going on a big safari in Africa. I wanted to explore the vast landscape, discover the urban culture and encounter the wildlife. In short, I wanted to experience a real adventure.

The savannas teeming with majestic creatures like elephants, lions, and giraffes are undeniably captivating; making your way through the dense jungle, exploring the diversity of wildlife and nature there, climbing the snow-capped Kilimanjaro offered an endless opportunity for adventures. Alone, in the thought of capturing this iconic nature and wildlife, under the golden hues of the African sun, can spark a sense of passion in the event of the most seasoned photographers. It is the ultimate test of skill and patience, requiring long days of waiting and watching for that perfect shot.

But what if I told you that right in your own backyard, you could find similar thrills? As thrilling as an African safari may be, there is an unlike magic waiting just outside of our own homes.

The wildlife photography we face in our backyards offers its own set of rewards and challenges, inviting us to explore the often-overlooked beauty of our immediate surroundings. And it even presents us with a deeper intimacy and familiarity.

We easily overlook the treasures that lie just beyond our doorstep; yet, beneath the surface of our daily life, there is a wealth of beauty waiting to be discovered; from the fluttering wings of a butterfly to the majestic deer.

In recent years, there has been a growing appreciation for the wildlife that inhabits our urban and suburban landscapes. With the right motivation and perspective, even the most common creatures can become subjects of extraordinary beauty. A simple walk in the park or forest can turn into a photographic adventure, with each encounter offering a new opportunity to capture the magic of our planet.

Already during my life in Mauritius, I realized I do not have to leave the safety of my home to find magic encounters. It started while living in Pereybere, when a variety of birds visited my small garden and offered me lots of opportunities for wonderful photos. Even a stray cat turned up, gave birth to her kittens there. After I moved to Pointe aux Cannonier and later on to Trou aux Birches, the wildlife changed dramatically. Suddenly, I faced different species of lizards. Some of the most iconic photographs I took at home.

Lizard in my garden, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius.

It took me some time to lose my fear of the lizards that were suddenly hanging around everywhere. I was afraid of them because I knew next to nothing about them and it was these encounters that led me to deal with them, to learn what importance they actually have for the ecosystem of our planet and what threatened their existence. As almost always, in a nutshell, their greatest enemy is man and his reckless behavior.

One of the advantages is the unique sense of connection it fosters with our direct surroundings. The local wildlife allows us to develop a deeper understanding of the ecosystem that exists right outside our doors. The better we understand this unique circle of life, the more it encourages us to become stewards in our environment, advocating for the protection and preservation of the habitats. And in some cases, it connects us with the globalization of this green and blue planet.

I had my first encounter with the Grey Heron at the end of the public beach of Mon Choicy in 2013. Another animal I knew nothing about and needed to ask my friends on Facebook to figure out what bird it is. For the next two years, I could always count on him to be in his usual spot when the guy with the camera came around. Same time, same place; and the craziest thing is yet to come.

Grey Heron, Mon Choisy, Mauritius.

After my return to Germany, the Gray Herons remained loyal companions. No matter which spot I visited, one of them awaited me there. Over time, I learned to rely on this bird. When I came to a crossroads and I could not decide which way I would go, one of them flew up. I usually followed him and it almost always led to great motifs and locations. Over the years, I learned a lot about their habitat and about their behavior. For eleven years now, this bird has been with me and probably has become the most photographed animal in my life.

Regular encounters with wild animals mean that we can better study their behavior and the more we know about them, the better our photos will be. As a wildlife photographer, we cannot give orders to our `models´ and even have to adapt to them in. And especially with the wildlife in our backyard, it is easier to build a connection in this regard.

I still dream of going on a safari in Africa and India, explore the Amazonas and the best preparation for such a shooting is to explore the wildlife closer to home. Every walk in a German forest sharpens my senses for the surrounding life. It also teaches me patience, maybe the hardest skill as a wildlife photographer.

Before I started touring Germany, I hardly knew anything about the exotic domestic animals in this country. What at first glance seemed like a boring country for wildlife, is actually rich in exotic animals: from lizards to parrots, from seals to lynx, from wild horses to bisons, Germany has a lot to offer.

The pandemic and closed borders allowed me to discover this rich diversity, and even though I could not capture the more exotic animals due to my exhaustion and burnout, I have learned about the strong connection between my own backyard and the rest of the world.

While the temptation of far-off adventures may never fade, there is a special kind of magic in discovering the wonders that exist right in our backyards and gardens. When we yearn for the thrill of wildlife, we should remember that the most unexpected of places often hold the greatest adventures.

SSR Botanical Garden, Pamplemousses, Mauritius

*

Thank you for reading!

careerhow to
5

About the Creator

Krishan Mubashar

An author, who writes tales of human encounters with nature and wildlife. I dive into the depths of the human psyche, offering an insights into our connection with the world around us, inviting us on a journeys. (Christian Bass)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibi10 days ago

    That's amazing and very informative about specially wildlife , amazing photography skills 😊

  • Mariann Carroll10 days ago

    You do not see much Germany wildlife, this is great and visual informative piece. Thank you for sharing your backyard wildlife.

  • Some great photos and I do like taking wildlife pictures , though most of mine are cats

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.