Photography logo

An Afternoon with Joselito

Part of “Fashion Figures”

By Darius KwakPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Sub framing with Joselito

November 19th, 2020. After a long day of work as a school photographer for Lifetouch, I took my passion of photography and integrated it into life outside of the 9 to 5. Joselito: friend of my beautiful girlfriend, and I finally had the opportunity to meet, take photos, and pick each other’s brain after weeks of back and forth on Instagram.

Running an hour late, Joselito left an adorable message on my girlfriend’s phone.

“Hey, sorry I’m running late, I really can’t wait for this! I defentily need a moral boost like this. So quick question, and I’m only asking this cause I know this won’t be the last time I meet him , (me) what’s his favorite bubble tea? I really appreciate him doing this for free since I’m your friend, and I want to make it up to him next time.”

First impressions are always important, and I couldn’t help but smile to myself lisenting to the recording of the voice memo he sent to Shannen.

As four pm rolled by, the long awaited meeting between us finally came to be.

“You’re like a movie character,” he said in awe, clearly nervous, as my back was turned to him while on the phone as he entered through the front door of my Floral Park home.

Meeting Shannen’s friends has always been a welcome occasion, as she has very impeccable taste in people and is a great judge of character. Joselito was no exception. Extroverted, respectful and kind, his energy radiated throughout the room. A pure soul. A diamond in the ruff.

Joselito in the park

We started off the photo shoot at a park nearby. Jose exuded confidence, charisma and comfort in front of the lens and with his white chunky sneakers, blue trousers and beige overcoat, Joselito was able to be a part of a portrait series epitomizing youth, openness and human expression.

“Don’t second guess, I’m open to anything”, he said, referring to his willingness to pose anyway as long as it created a meaningful or memorable photo. Anything for the gram, they say, and as a photographer I was psyched to comply with his request. Eager to get as many photos before sundown, we got to work, photographing in front of trees, benches, and brick pathways. The sun went down quicker than expected, but the night was still young...

taking advantage of nature

As night started to overtake the day, making it harder to shoot at lower iso measurements, Joselito and I made the most of the little light we had. Movement shots, smiling expressions, serious ones, silly ones, we tried it all, Not afraid of going against the status quo, the norm.

And within an hour, our daylight ceased. About 500 pictures later, Joselito and I got to capture expressions, figures and fashion with a level of comfort and ease that seemed only possible between people who’ve known each other for months or years, not minutes. Despite all that, the seemingly impossible bond was forming right then and there much to the content of the mutual party involved: my girlfriend Shannen.

“Why are you guys low key twinning?” She asked, referring to the use of blue and beige color ways that we were both pulling off.

A collective laugh from both of us echoed throughout the park we were shooting at. Seemed appropriate, I thought to myself, having something in common with one of my love’s true friends. Again showcasing just how amazing of a person she is and the kind of good people she attracts.

As 6:30 approached, we all decided to go back to the house to take some interior photos with a darker outfit, and while our time outside with the fresh air was over, the night was still very young, full of endless possibilities.

Jump

Leaning

What a smile

how to
1

About the Creator

Darius Kwak

Long Island based photographer, brother and friend.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.