Photography logo

Adventures with my camera Part 1

On our property

By Julienne HolmesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Down In our Canyon

I really enjoy photography, and, while I'm not that good at it, I still enjoy photographing the beauty of nature. The greatest enjoyment I get, is photographing our property. Because we live out in the rural sticks, I'm always finding interesting photo opportunities. For example the photos down in our canyon are really breathtaking.

Down in our Canyon

Down in our Canyon

Down in our Canyon

Down in our Canyon

Down in our Canyon

Down in our Canyon

Down in our Canyon

Down in our Canyon

Other photo opportunities on our property are of the wildlife. We have a rabbit and hummingbird that comes around. Both only show up for the food. I'm okay with that, though, because I really enjoy seeing them.

Our little Hummingbird at the feeder.

Must be lunch time!

I think I did a pretty decent photo job of the hummingbirds. Since they flutter around so much it's hard to capture them on film.

Our rabbit, who lives somewhere on the property. Not sure if he still takes up residence underneath that old clunker.

He kind of looks like he's posing.

When I captured the rabbit with my camera, I tried out my zoom feature. Getting close to a wild animal was just not going to happen. First off, I'm pretty sure he'll hop away. And, unless he's rabid, I can't see him letting me get close enough to take a picture of him.

Other little wildlife animals that come around, are birds and the occasional squirrel. The squirrel loves to steal food from the bird feeders that I put outside. Yet, regretfully, I haven't caught him on camera doing it. While that would be an adorable picture, I'll have to wait until next time.

There's the little cheeky monkey. He kind of reminds me of my cats when they are about to do something mischievous.

Another perfect shot of the cute little monster.

He's on to me! He must know that I'm photographing him.

Sweet little birdie hiding from the camera.

Two birds at the bird feeder. Not as much traffic as expected.

They either really like this bird feeder. Or they like the sunflower seed. Or both.

My guess is the sunflower seed.

I really can't say why the bird on the right is having so much trouble getting over to the bird feeder.

This, in my opinion, is the best picture of our little birds. Like Hummingbirds, birds aren't the easiest to capture with a camera. Yet, unlike Hummingbirds, they don't flutter around as much. So, it's not completely impossible.

Other pretty photographs to take on our property are one of plants. We bought some at the store last year and planted them on our property, but, regretfully, only a few plants survived the cold harsh winter of New Mexico. Some did, just not the Bougainvillea and the Hibiscus. Which were my favorites. Luckily I took some pictures of them before winter.

Really has a pretty mystical appearance...

I think the ones I took at night of the Bougainvillea really turned out beautiful.

The tree next to it really brings out it's appeal.

Has a Christmas feel to it.

Of course, the ones in the day time are really pretty too.

The Hibiscus photos also turned out really gorgeous!

At certain angles, the Hibiscus looks brighter...

Maybe it's the sun...

See what I mean...

Yet, there's that reddish color inside the flower that really springs out.

My mom really fell in love with the Hibiscus...

I think the Hibiscus is pretty, but my ultimate true love is the Bougainvillea.

Which one do you like?

That's enough for now. Next time I'll put up more photos. So, bye, bye, for now.

camera
1

About the Creator

Julienne Holmes

I'm a writer, but I haven't had many successful books or stories published. I'm also a photographer, and have submitted a few pictures to photo stock companies; such as adobe stock and Shuttershock.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.