Photography logo

A Flight of Imagination

Behind the scenes of island dreams

By Ruby Estelle Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
"Take me to the beach"

The series of fortunately unfortunate occurrences all began when I arrived back home after being out for the night. Completely unprepared for what I would find I entered my room to see that my bird cage had managed to go from hanging in the air from the ceiling to being on the ground no longer attached. A sense of panic went through me as I came to the realization that my bird was not in her cage. Completely devastated but mentally prepared as I was expecting to find her dead I frantically started searching. My cat whom I had been worried about wether she had escaped the night before was ,to my relief, sitting next to my bed pretending to be innocent.

I could not find my parakeet and began to question the unthinkable, but convincing myself that it could not be. I knew that my cat did not eat her. Finding her beneath my fan in the corner between the wall and my bookcase she was hiding injured. This hurt me deeply and I blamed myself for being out as I cried, tending to her and trying to heal her. She subsequently passed away and I knew I eventually had to embark on the adventure to retrieve another. One that was the same so I could play the illusion in my mind like she was never gone.

On a day that was unlike most others before she passed away chaos broke lose and my wall decor that said take me to the beach was wrecked. Picking up the bits and pieces I wondered how I could possibly remake it. With sea shells, various stones and odd and ends I set them aside until I had found the creative inspiration to create a beach scene. I wanted to be able to make something better than what had fallen apart. With just a shoe box, paints, and the items from the decor I made the perfect scene of the mess that had been made. Unsure as to of what use I could make out of it since I could not hang it on my wall I set it away for later.

Eventually i returned to the place where I originally got JewJew to find an identical bird. I was dissapointed to discover they did not have the same color as the one i had before. Anxiously hoping I would be able to find another somewhere i left before i purchased the one that I had pointed out to the worker to take out and charge me for. I went to a different store later that day that had informed me that they what I was looking for and got it.

I let her out of her cage a few days later so that she could get used to her surroundings and hopefully allow me to hold her. She was flying around and not staying still and I had to catch her. I decided that I would try putting her on the beach scene in hopes that she would sit still as to not attempt not to fly away. Knowing that it would be worth a thousand words I tried to take a picture of it. I got the best shots I could successfully portraying a beach vibe for what it was worth, but something was missing.

A few days later I had to get a new shower curtain and looking through amazon I was trying to find one that would fit the budget of what I had left on an old gift card. Being obsessed with the sakura plant I decided thats the picture that I wanted on my new shower curtain, but at the very last minute I just happened to changed my order before it went though. Because of the dolphins, sea shells, and coconut shell I keep in my bathroom, I chose a beach scene. Little to my knowledge it was of a place I have been frequently seeing pop up on my social media called the Maldives.

Between waiting for my new shower curtain and dreaming of paradise while being busy I read my email and instantaneously knew what i wanted to do for the challenge. It took my bird dying, my plaque being in pieces, finally getting a new bird, three failed delivery attempts of my shower curtain, a goal and my imagination with this challenge showing up in my email.

Visually the illusion of my bird being somewhere free in the kind of habitat that I frequently wish that I could go for the sake of an artists touch was a representation of some of my hopes and dreams. As a nature photographer even if I was fortunate enough to go to the Maldives I don't think I would have been able to capture such a picture of a bird up close. It all had to happen and happened for a reason so that I could write this article.

Mentally it is an inspiration to believe in dreams and make the most out of every situation because there is always a victory through struggles and circumstances even if we did not see it in the moments they have happened. Beautiful unexpected things come together even when some things fall apart. Like my bird just wanted to fly and be free, I do too. Though JewJew Pikachu appears to be free she is not, but needs to be, and I can relate that to things in my life as well.

art
Like

About the Creator

Ruby Estelle

Im Kezia, Family oriented & fun, loving, nature, people, music & animal lover. photographer, writer, cook, artist, lover & creator! I aspire world venture, vlogging, making a foundation, having a positive impact & inspiring you💕

🙏🌍🌏🌎☮️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.