Photography logo

A Beginner's Guide to Choosing Your First Camera

My advice for those looking to explore photography

By NicholiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photos by Nick Sinis

This is a guide for absolute beginners looking to purchase their first camera. I will share my experience in deciding on my first camera, and why it was a great choice.

Where I Started:

Starting photography can be a challenging and confusing endeavour. I am still relatively new to the photography world. My interest in photography began through my journalism course. My lecturer, who was a photographer/videographer for The Age, really inspired me to pursue it.

In his various lectures, he introduced me to the fundamentals of photography. From framing, composition, correct lighting and rule of thirds. Since that time, I have become addicted to the profession, and I hope to create a career out of it. So, here is my guide for someone starting out.

First Step:

The first step I took was taking my time. I believe this is crucial in choosing a camera. Doing so can not only save you money, but help you realise what best suits you. You should take your time and research what the best cameras for beginners are and why. I took about a month before I finally decided on what camera to begin with.

Choosing My First Camera:

I started with a simple compact camera, the Panasonic Lumix TZ90. This has been an extremely fun camera to start out with. It has a wide range of features, and goes beyond just a basic digital camera. It has 30x optical zoom, which can be great for photographing wild life.

It has manual modes such as manual exposure, aperture priority, and shutter speed. This is important as you can learn how to master and understand these crucial photography elements. There is also a custom mode, where you can set three different modes with your preferred preferences.

It's also perfect for video, as it comes with 4K burst mode and 4K video. The LCD tilting touch screen is excellent for taking selfies and vlogging. The camera also has a live view finder.

This camera has helped me lay the basic foundations of photography. It is easy to get your head around, takes sharp images, and has everything you need. Here are examples of my favourite shots I've taken with this camera:

DSLR or Compact?

Working up to a DSLR can be more beneficial than going all in. DSLR cameras can initially be daunting to use, I made this mistake early on. I took a DSLR to try to shoot at a local festival. It was bulky and difficult to figure out for a novice user. Compact cameras are easier to navigate, and can be less obvious if you don't want to stand out in a crowd.

Compact cameras are also much more affordable than if you're going for a professional camera. Another drawback to getting a DSLR for your first camera is dealing with interchangeable lenses.

Compact cameras come with a fixed inbuilt lens, whereas a DSLR will come with an attachable lens kit. This can mean you're very limited to what you can shoot depending on the lens that comes with the camera. Understanding lenses can take just as much time as understanding your camera. Again, it is best to take your time and make sure you fully understand a DSLR and lenses before purchasing one.

I have since moved onto the Sony A7, which is a full frame DSLR. However, learning all the crucial techniques through the Lumix has benefitted me immensely.

Therefore, I suggest spending an appropriate amount of time researching what camera is best for you, and what you plan to use it for. I've found this camera to be very suitable for the outdoors, especially nature shots, flowers, and animals. Be sure to also check out Sony, Nikon, and Canon, as they offer an outstanding range of compacts. However, my number one choice would have to be the Panasonic Lumix TZ.

camera
Like

About the Creator

Nicholi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.