Photography logo

10 Questions with Celebrity Photographer Gabriel Radulescu.

Story by Dora Rodriguez

By KW Publicists Published 3 years ago 4 min read
2
Photographer Gabriel Radulescu

We recently sat down with celebrity cover photographer Gabriel Radulescu to discuss his process when it comes to shooting covers for world renwon fashion magazines, and this is what he had to say...

1. How was it shooting the cover of Gmaro Fashion Magazine? 

It was amazing, Kara Lina has been outstanding. She had really great energy in the studio and I absolutely love the cover.

2. You’re an experienced international cover photographer. Do you have a routine you follow to prepare yourself before a shoot? 

Before each shoot, no matter the genre: fashion, swimwear, lingerie, luxury cars, etc., I always ask the client to send me samples so I can see what exactly needs to be shot. For me, the most important thing is to deliver what the client needs or wants and not just ''something like that.’' I like to deliver accurate results.

3. Where did the shoot take place? 

The shoot took place at Lensman photo studio in Dubai.

4. Was it your first time shooting with Canadian model Kara Lina? 

Yes, it was the first time meeting and shooting with Kara Lina and I am pleased the magazine chose me and my work for this fashion project. I enjoyed shooting with such an experienced cover model.

5. What camera did you use for the shoot? Any other equipment? 

I always use my Canon 5D mark 4 and 6D mark 2 with 85mm f1.8 and 70-200mm f2.8. I am totally in love with those lenses. In terms of the lights and everything else, Lensman studio is fully equipped, so it was able to provide it all.

Model Kara Lina on the February 20210, issue 04 Cover of Gmaro Magazine, shot by Gabriel Radulescu.

6. How long does it normally take you to shoot for a magazine cover? 

It really depends on the magazine and the type of shoot. This specific Gmaro cover shoot took around 3 -4 hrs max. I shot Kara Lina in 3 or 4 different outfits. We had a fantastic make up artist with us, Sinéad Boomsma, who touched-up Kara Lina’s make up after each wardrobe change. Getting started always takes some time as, in the beginning, there are a lot of ''test'' shots to get the lighting right. The first few clicks are always considered a ''test'' as it takes a bit of time for the model to get into fashion shoot mode, you know, into that fashion character vibe and give me that expression, that look, until we get the cover shot and the inside spread shots that are needed.

7. Do you give any input when it comes to picking the photos for the magazine? Does the model? Or does the magazine choose? 

Again, it really depends on the magazine I am shooting for, but most of the time, when I give the photos to the model I already select the best of the best and she will narrow them down to her best choices as, at the end of the day, the model is the one on the cover. Some magazines like MAXIM Australia, for example, requested I send them all images from the shoot (1000-1300 images) and they chose the cover shot, and ran it by the model later to see what her perspective is. But the magazine is essentially the one who has the final say of what gets published.

8. Do you coach the models in terms of posing at the shoot or do you go with the flow, and let them do their own thing? 

Most of the models I shoot are very experienced cover models, so they don’t really ‘need’ coaching. But I do step in whenever I feel they could benefit from my opinion, and they appreciate my input.

9. How does a studio shoot differ from an on-location shoot? Which do you prefer doing?

Hmm...that's a great question. Both differ completely and we get different types of looks from them. Studio shoots are always the most ideal because in the studio you have everything set-up: you set the lighting easily, the AC is on so you don't need to worry about the wind, and heat, or sand blowing in your face, you have the perfect setting to change or touch-up makeup, and it always offers a certain type of precise look in the end, which is what some magazines are aiming for.

With outdoor, on-location shoots everything is unpredictable, there are so many factors that you cannot control. When I worked as a spa director in the past, I learned to ''control the uncontrollable variables’'...But outdoors you can't control the wind, the sand blowing everywhere, the model’s hair is flying in the wrong direction, people might be stepping into your photo in a crowded city, making your model feel uncomfortable sometimes, having random onlookers watching. But regardless of all these “uncontrollable factors” I simply love on-location shoots because all of those challenges push me to find solutions in a very short time - you can't take a lot of time because the sun goes down, the light is changing, and you need that particular moment to create that spectacular shot. I don’t just want a ‘good’ shot, I always aim for that ‘spectacular’ and ‘epic’ shot.

10. What’s the next magazine you’re shooting for?

I wish I could tell you, but projects are normally kept under wraps until we are ready to release a cover. But please stay tuned, something amazing is on its way!

Model Kara Lina on the February 20210, issue 04 back Cover of Gmaro Magazine, shot by Gabriel Radulescu.

Model Kara Lina featured in Gmaro Fashion Magazine, wearing Burashed Jewellery. Image captured by Gabriel Radulescu.

interview
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.