Petlife logo

When I Woke Up He Was Gone

Goodbye, Doggie.

By NapoleonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Sergey Okhrymenko from Pexels

I live in a low-rise building, and it is on the top floor. It is a humble apartment, and there is a shared space, or as I call it, the courtyard, where we can do our laundry. In a small corner of the courtyard is where I first met Doggie.

It had been ages since I lived with a dog. We used to have a couple of dogs when I was young. The house was quite big, even for our family, and there was enough space where they were allowed to play around, always unleashed.

The dogs could roam freely inside and outside the house, and if they chose to go out at night, they could.

We even had a dog her name was Frances, who would be gone for weeks, and when she came back, she was always pregnant.

Then, we will have more puppies, some we would give away.

Later on, we had to move to a smaller house, and it was impossible to have a dog, and I never felt attached to a dog again until today.

When I was new in this building, I wasn't sure if I liked it or not. It wasn't because I needed a bigger space or to be in my own space. In this apartment, I had to share the space with someone who has become my anchor, especially since my Mom passed away and I'm still struggling as a writer.

This is his apartment.

As days passed, I began to love the place and the quiet neighborhood.

Every day there is laughter, and at night we have conversations about anything, life in general, and our feelings for each other.

This is where we have coffee and shared meals.

And here with us is Doggie.

Doggie

The dog belongs to the owner of the building. I only learned it today. I always thought Doggie belonged to one of the building staff members.

I don't even know if he has a name aside from what I call him, and maybe it was good that I never knew because, to me, he will always be our Doggie.

Doggie is usually tied up in his little corner unless someone from the building staff is around to play with him.

Or sometimes, Doggie sets himself free, and he would be outside of our apartment.

I find myself constantly checking on Doggie to see if he has food to eat or water to drink.

At night, he is quiet. But I know he is there. So, you see, even if he isn't mine, I still call him our Doggie.

And that is our routine, especially now when I hardly go out because I don't feel safe being out.

Last night, I heard Doggie barking, which is unusual as he is usually quiet. Today I was cooking a special meal for us, and I thought it would be like any other day. I was excited to set aside some for Doggie.

When I went out to bring him the food, he was gone. It never occurred to me that last night would be the last time I would hear Doggie.

Today, the building staff said the building owner had taken Doggie away.

Thank you, Doggie, for the joy you gave my partner and me.

I will never forget the times you would wiggle your ears, your way of saying thank you for the food and water.

Wherever you are, may you touch other people's lives the way you touched mine.

I still look at your corner now and then. Maybe I'm still hoping you will come back. Perhaps I'm still hoping to see you one more time, wiggling your ears and unleashed.

dog
1

About the Creator

Napoleon

Working to be a better storyteller everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.