Petlife logo

Unlike My Dog, My Toddler Pees On the Carpet

I have dogged sons and a dogged dog who are my beloved work distractions.

By Eileen DavisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Sandy & Son (Photo by Author)

While writing and housekeeping, I am potty training my toddler with minor success. My husband says my son is potty-trained: he just refuses to go in the toilet. This week he has peed on the carpet only feet away from the potty chair. In August, my toddler stood on the toilet and refused to sit. Instead, he turned toward me and aimed. I yelled, "No!" Still standing on the toilet, he pivoted toward the door. He smirked while he peed on the bath rug.

Luckily, my dog Sandy eliminates waste outside, so I only have to pick up her poop in my backyard. Occasionally I interrupt my three older sons playing video games to pick up poop too. They tromp up the stairs, put plastic grocery bags over their hands, and pick up a few messes. I pick up the rest of the messes.

My husband and I held off procuring a pooch for 15 years because we didn't want to do deal with more poop other than what already appeared in our toddlers' diapers. Our youngest was almost out of diapers, so we seriously considered a dog in 2020. Or I seriously considered it.

A Reverse Dog Hug (Photo by Author)

An Emotional Support Animal

For years, my three oldest sons begged for a dog. A year ago, my mom asked why we didn't have a dog when we have so many boys. A dog would be good for them, but my husband insisted we could have a dog in retirement when he had the time to train it. I reconsidered this idea when an accident changed my family's life.

In March 2019, my third son had to be revived after he accidentally strangled himself. After that incident, my husband, two oldest sons, and I developed PTSD. During the summer of 2020, I considered acquiring an emotional support animal to comfort my family, especially my oldest with ADHD and anxiety.

After all the begging, I told my boys they had to earn money to buy the dog. My oldest looked at the price for dog supplies and dogs and quickly became discouraged. Soon after, I set up a reward chore chart so they could earn the money to purchase and care for a dog. I also proposed my oldest could earn the dog if he improved his school attendance. Well, my son missed two weeks due to illness and many other days due to his sensory struggle wearing a mask. The dog idea helped some days to motivate him but didn't other days. We resorted to saying he needed to complete his homework to earn the dog. Well, my son passed all his classes.

During the term, I researched service dogs and emotional support dogs. I considered a service dog for my son or myself. I realized that service dogs would be very expensive to buy and train. I asked my sister-in-law who trains service dogs some questions. She informed me that service dogs wouldn't function as house pets, which discouraged that route.

The last three weeks of October, I struggled through a substitute teaching assignment because a staff member badgered me almost daily. I felt overwhelmed by the situation but wanted to stay for the students. At this point, I desired a dog to support me too.

I scanned online classifieds for an inexpensive or free housebroken dog (I had enough pee to clean up!). When I viewed the part red-heeler mix, my heart melted. I texted the owner who said another family was first in line. She would get back to me if that family didn't take the dog. After no word from the owner, I looked at other dogs. Two days later, I received a text that Sandy was still available. Immediately, I informed my husband that I was going to look at a dog. However, he didn't expect me to come home with that dog.

Walking Sandy (Photo by Author)

Perfect Timing

I knew Sandy belonged in our home. Her energetic, quirky personality fit my family's personality. Sandy had tons of energy, loved to fetch the ball, and loved butt scratches. I brought her home right before going to my sub job. That school day did not go well, nor the next day, but the excitement with Sandy at my home bolstered my spirits. I faced job retaliation days after the last sub assignment, which brought me very low. I pet Sandy and took her on walks to lift my spirits. I had my boys and a new dog to distract me.

God sent Sandy to my home at the right time. We had recently moved into a larger home with a larger office and yard, and the fence installers had just installed the fence gates. We had enough room for a dog to meld into our home, school, and work lives. And she became our furry angel to help us all face the work and school anxiety during the pandemic.

My Furry and Non-furry Coworkers

Now I just write or draw from home to earn spare cash. While I write or draw, Sandy and my youngest often interrupt me. One barks. One yells. Sandy pushes the ball at my feet and whines to play fetch. My youngest holds my hand and leads me to the fridge. I have to inform them both when it's time to go pee. Sandy goes more willingly than the toddler.

*Dog's name has been changed

dog
Like

About the Creator

Eileen Davis

Writer. Blogger. Poet. Avid reader. Boy mom. Have bipolar 2. Experience bisexual attraction. News Junkie. Love America. Love China. English language BA from BYU. Follow me on X, Facebook, Medium, or my blog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.