Petlife logo

Touch of Heaven

A Fluffy Memory

By K. J. NeithercuttPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo from Personal Camera Roll

Losing a pet is hard.

The above photo displays my petting an orange Maine Coon. His name is Sammy, and he passed away peacefully in his sleep on August 30th, 2022 at the ripe old age of 20.

In my grief, I think about the memories I've had with him. Sammy was originally my aunt's cat, but for whatever reason, she decided she couldn't care for him and gave him to my parents and I instead. By the time we got him he was 4 years old, skittish, and terrified of the world. Hiding in cabinets in the dark for hours was the norm for him. It took at least a year for him to feel comfortable enough to step out of the dog door and enjoy the outside world. Once he did, it was like he was a changed cat. Entirely rehabilitated from the skittish kitty we knew before. He became the ambassador of the neighborhood, greeting people and making lots of human and animal friends.

I have many fond memories of Sammy, from taunting and teasing the dogs in the neighborhood from the top of our fence, chasing squirrels and climbing trees, to patrolling the sidewalks for pets and snuggles from passerby. He never hunted. He was a big boy, but a gentle soul.

During evening time, Sammy would lay in my mother's lap. He loved his face rubs. We always knew he enjoyed being petted when he would drool on us. A gross yet flattering sentiment.

When I think of my favorite memory of Sammy, I think of one crisp fall morning where I slept in later than usual. Sammy, being as large and fluffy as he was, would be confidently outside most of the day, or, most often, cuddling with my mom. He and I didn't cuddle much, especially at night because he preferred to sleep in the big king bed with my parents. I want to say I was about sixteen at the time my memory occurred.

I was half awake and half asleep, enjoying the sensations of soft sheets against my skin, and the warmth of my blanket. I believe it was around 8am. During school days I would always wake up at 6:30am and scramble to make it to school on time by 7am. So I was enjoying taking my time on this particular morning.

I'm a side sleeper, always have been. I was sleeping on my right side, away from the wall. The bed was a twin and small, there wasn't much room for anybody else except perhaps a curled-up cat.

I was about to drift peacefully back into dreaming. The softness of my pillow, and comfort of my mattress felt as though they were swallowing me whole. Eventually, though, something happened which I can only describe as my body growing bored with lying on one side for too long. So I turned over to sleep on my left side and placed my hand in a spot that was usually barren, with nothing there. Usually, a soothing cold patch of mattress.

Except, when I let my hand fall, it was as if I were touching heaven itself. In my fingers, I felt such heavenly softness, far softer than the rest of my bed. It felt warm too, and... it moved! I felt the heavenly thing twist and turn, and then sigh. I opened my eyes to see what this thing was that I was touching and unexpectedly... I found Sammy sleeping there on his back. Paws in the air, relaxed. Chin toward the ceiling.

I thought to myself he must've come in during the hours of the night and curled up next to my head somehow not disturbing me in my slumber. The fur I touched was on his belly, and when I petted the softness a few more times, he opened his eyes and tutted at me especially after I scritched his chin. He was such a sweet, lovey boy. It made my morning!

I had never connected so deeply with Sammy up until that moment. It was perhaps the most pleasant memory I have of him, and I already miss it painfully.

Sammy was so full of love and had so much unconditional love in his heart to share. He was loved deeply by all who knew him.

cat
Like

About the Creator

K. J. Neithercutt

Hello there! I'm Kat, short for Katherine, and I have a passion for writing. I find joy in crafting compelling poetry and captivating short stories, with a keen focus on fiction, science fiction, fantasy, and the paranormal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.