Petlife logo

Top 3 Things I've Learned from Having a Dog

Meet my baby and my nephew!

By Chinecia FerrerPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Look at them! Too freakin' cute!

Well, let me start off by saying, yes my dog is like my baby to me. I am truly one of those fur baby mamas and I am proud to be one! In the picture above is my baby in the front. His name is Benji, he is currently 1-year-old, and he is a Shih Tzu and Lhasa Apso mix. His cousin in the back is a Beagle, 2-years-old, and his name is Deadpool! Yup, you read that right, Deadpool! My brother is a Marvel fanatic and it's his dog so he had the right to name him whatever he wanted. Anyways, today I wanna kinda sum up what these fur babies have taught me so far.

Benji All Happy Because He Ate His First Cup of Vanilla Ice Cream!

Big Babies!

Having a dog is like raising a baby! At least that's what most people say. I can relate a little bit, but it's not as crazy as raising a child. One thing for sure is that most dogs seem to stay or get stuck in the puppy stage. They're playful, cute, and mischievous. Honestly, I have become such a big baby towards Deadpool and Benji. Funny thing is, I always beg for their attention. Isn't it suppose to be the other way around? Of course, they beg for attention as well. They've made me want more attention and love from them. They have become my emotional support. Overall, I definitely feel like the big baby in this dog-owner relationship.

Responsibility

Benji's first trip was at the mall, but he knocked out.

Having a dog is a lot of work and dedication. Because of that, I have become more responsible and organized with my life. Of course not completely all parts of my life, but most. In the beginning, when Benji was a small little nugget (as shown in the picture to the right) he required a lot of potty training—meaning, waking up as early as 6 in the morning to let him do his business outside and walking him as late as 1 in the morning to do his business. Let me tell ya, my sleeping pattern was f****d up. In addition, I had a feeding schedule for him because he is a small breed of dog. He has a higher chance of obesity if you overfeed or just lazily leave food out without an accurate amount. Currently, he is at a healthy and happy weight! Dogs, of course, also require cleaning, especially when they play rough in the mud or just overall in dirty places. Benji hates water so it was, and kinda still is, hard to keep him inside the tub/shower. Anyways, dogs give you a sense of responsibility and you start to realize what life was like before you even had a dog. One thing for sure, I don't ever regret having Benji and Deadpool in my life. Well, hopefully, you understand by now. Having a dog means feeding, cleaning, comforting, and taking care of another being that is not yourself.

Learning to Forgive and Forget

Benji with His Favorite Toy that Deadpool Has Shredded into Pieces and No Longer Exists

Dogs have such undying love for their humans. They could care less whether or not you have all the money in the world. All they want is for you to give them love in return. Benji, even when he causes trouble and I scold him for it, is always by my side and keeps me company. Or if I did something that he doesn't like, like taking a bath, he recuperates pretty quickly and his tail goes on wagging like crazy again. He has taught me to forgive those who have hurt me in any way, shape, or form and continue to love those who have stayed by my side through thick and thin. I know it sounds corny, but in the past, I held grudges for such a long time that it would affect my everyday mood. Anyways, Benji has taught me to live your life to the fullest and always be kind to others. Be the best Mother Teresa you can be!

The Cuties Today 9.26.18!

There are definitely more things I am still continuing to learn, but these are the most life-affecting lessons I've learned so far. Every dog is different, so you might learn something different from your own dog. Just make sure you are prepared and well aware of what you are getting yourself into if you decide to have a dog. One thing is for sure, their undying love will never not be enough to keep them by your side.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Chinecia Ferrer

22 years old with an old soul 😂😂😂 Also not the best with grammar or writing overall, but hopefully you get the point 😂 Enjoy my creative work and also learn a little more about me. You'll read from blogs to life hacks or just life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.