Petlife logo

The Wonderful Thing About Tigger

The story of rescue dog and his rescue human ❤️

By Molly Caitlin LongPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
October 4, 2021

I’ll never forget the first time I saw Tigger. That wasn’t his name at the time, but he flinched cried at the sound of what was. He had arrived in my then-boyfriend’s front yard, shortly before we met, skin and bones. He was emaciated and missing most of his fur. When I met him, he was being kept in the backyard, because the plan was to re-home him. I fell in love instantly, I looked up at the man and said, “He’s mine, he’s staying here.” That was the start of our journey together.

I learned his story. In his first “home” he spent his days and nights in the yard, while the other family dog was allowed inside. The other dog bullied him, stole his food and toys. When he was “rescued” from this home, he was brought to a household with children he loved, and was abused while attempting to shield them. He lived with this family for a while, taking on the burden of protecting his children. These people eventually left him on the side of the road far from home, because he bit the step mother who was trying to strike a child, and he made his way back. To this day, I believe he was going home to check the kids. What a harrowing ordeal for such a scared baby boy, it break my heart still.

I soon found out that everything scared him, even his own name. So, I decided to give him a new one; with his beautiful brindled coat, anxious tendencies, and constant bouncing, Tigger was perfect fit that was close enough that he responded to it. I loved Winnie the Pooh as a little one, and this name truly felt meant for him and for me. He was so traumatized; if I picked up a broom, he ran or cowered; if I walked too close behind him he’d run away, expecting a kick in the behind. He’d eat as fast and as much as he possibly could, afraid that food might not come again. It hurt me to watch him suffer like this.

His anxiety also caused some major problems. He ripped up carpets pacing, and broke doors jumping into them. He has a skin condition called seborrheoic dermatitis, which causes him so much discomfort. He bit me twice at the beginning, both of which I acknowledge were my fault. Since then, we’ve both been trained. It was a long journey of medicated shampoo, learning to trust, CBD treats, so may vitamins, and all of the love. He is now the sweetest, most loving, most social pup I know. He loves making friends and just being alive.

We’ve moved from a house with a yard to an apartment without, and though I expected this to be a hard change with him, it only brought us closer; turns out he loves walking on his leash all the time instead of just once a day. Plus I love going with him and playing outside in the snow or sun. His happiness warms my heart. I will make his remaining years full of love and treats.

He’s even been certified as an emotion support animal! Truth is, when I rescued Tigger, he rescued me too. Sometimes, he is the only reason I go outside, and I am so thankful for him. Me makes every day worth getting out of bed just to see his happy dance when I do it. The wonderful thing about tiggers, is tiggers are wonderful things. The most of wonderful thing about Tiggers is that he’s the only one. ❤️

dog
Like

About the Creator

Molly Caitlin Long

22 - Artist - Poet - Fiction & Fantasy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.