Petlife logo

The View from the Hutch

Tales of Stella the Rabbit

By Joe HarrisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The View from the Hutch
Photo by Степан Галагаев on Unsplash

Oh what a world we live in, where a mind like mine is trapped behind a cage of flimsy metal. Confined to a small space of hay and wood, where I’m subjected to daily pestering from my captors. No matter how much I stomp my feet they show no signs of fear, continuously picking me up and hugging me like a simple-minded fool. They laugh at my attempts to ward them off, undermining my war cries as something adorable.

I have already lost count of the days in which I've been held prisoner in this hell hole, if my memory is correct it has been two months since I was brought here, passed between the hands of sinister giants like some sort of pet. They keep me under guard by their large black feline, who keeps watch over me throughout the day. Sometimes we sit in a stalemate of stares through the bars of my prison, daring the other to look away. I take some comfort in these daily victories as he looks away at the mere sound of a bird overhead, yet he still has the last laugh, able to slink away to the comfort of the house of my captors.

Mental and physical stimulation is near impossible with only a few square feet of ground in which I can explore. I use the rare moments of peace away from the cat and my captors to observe my surroundings. My cage is placed in the corner of a large grassy area surrounded by large wooden pillars, yet in the far corner, is an alley that leads to I'm not sure where. It is only when I see the young captors running down there and back through the house that I realise this is my best chance of escape.

The plan...

Recently, I've been hearing my captors talking to one another about letting me out of my hutch to run around the larger area. The one condition being if my attitude improves. Here I've laid out my plan; I will put on my best bunny behaviour, convincing these fools that I'm nothing more than a humble house pet, urgh even the word brings vile to my mouth.

Once I have secured their trust I will act fast, running to the alley to freedom. I should be small and fast enough to evade them, just as long as all five of my captors aren't out, should the cat be there I will have no chance of making it out alive.

The great escape...

For weeks now I have humiliated myself more than I ever thought possible, fluffing up my fur, snuggling up to the younger captor, and finally shaking my fluffy tail (I don't know how I can ever come back from this). I just hope that everything I have done will make them trust me enough to roam around the large grassy area, otherwise all of these de-grading actions will be for nothing.

At last, the simple fools who have kept me prisoner for months have said I can be allowed out for a few minutes, a short amount of time but it should be enough. I have prepared myself for so long that I’m started to worry I won’t be able to pull it off. No, I can’t think like that now, if I play my cards right I should be free of this hell hole shortly.

This is my time, and fate has been kind to me indeed, it is the young captors who have been tasked with looking after me. They’re too distracted by their phones to know what I’ve got planned. With their minds busy on aimless scrolling I take my chance. A quick stretch of my legs and I run. I can’t believe it, I’m actually doing it, I jump like I’ve never jumped before, leaping with all my might towards the exit, I can smell the sweet smell of freedom.

The end...

I’ve done it! My plan worked. The young captors noticed too late, I was off the grass and down the alley before they could stop me. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I got free, but once out in the open I made my way to a much large field of grass surrounded by large trees. With the captors calling out the ridiculous name they gave me I never looked back.

Ah freedom is indeed sweet. Never a day passes when I don’t enjoy basking in the sunshine and leaping through the endless fields of flowers.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Joe Harris

A lover of writing with a tonne of thoughts and opinions stuck in his head. Lets see what comes out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.